Anything Goes Harpers Bizarre

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Warner Music Group

Genre: Folk

Subgenre: Folk Rock

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1This Is Only the Beginning01:45
  • 2Anything Goes02:00
  • 3Two Little Babes In The Wood03:49
  • 4The Biggest Night Of Her Life02:28
  • 5Pocketful Of Miracles02:51
  • 6Snow02:40
  • 7Chattanooga Choo Choo02:37
  • 8Hey, You In The Crowd02:27
  • 9Louisiana Man02:37
  • 10Milord03:06
  • 11Virginia City02:16
  • 12Jessie03:48
  • 13You Need A Change02:44
  • 14High Coin02:37
  • Total Runtime37:45

Info zu Anything Goes

When you first spin Anything Goes, don’t start bemoaning the mastering job: the introduction – appropriate entitled “(Intro) This Is Only the Beginning” – is supposed to sound like it was taken from an old record. After all, how better to set the stage for the band to tackle “Anything Goes” and “Two Little Babes in the Woods”? Not that covering Cole Porter was a decision destined to pay off with huge success, but the fact that Harpers Bizarre managed to make it into the Billboard Hot 100 with both “Anything Goes” (#43) and their take on the Mack Gordon / Harry Warren classic, “Chattanooga Choo Choo” (#45) at all seems kind of miraculous when you think about the other tunes taking the chart by storm at the time.

The rest of the album follows a similar sonic format, with the group throwing in a few other standards – “Pocketful of Miracles,” written by Sammy Cahn and Jimmy Van Heusen, is a particular highlight – while also turning in a couple of originals (“Hey You in the Crowd,” “Virginia City”) and taking on songs by some of their peers that were easily made to fit the mold, like Randy Newman’s “The Biggest Night of Her Life” and “Snow,” Doug Kershaw’s “Louisiana Man,” and, to close things out, Van Dyke Parks’ “High Coin.”

Anything Goes might’ve been an album out of step with the times even in ’67 – a creative decision which Harpers Bizarre wore proudly on their sleeve –but one thing’s for sure: listening to this material in mono feels just right.

This edition features the original mono mix of the album, which has been out of print since 1967.

Dickie Scoppetone, vocals, guitar, bass
Ted Templeman, vocals, guitar, drums
Eddie James, guitar
Dick Yount, bass, background vocals
John Petersen, drums, percussion, background vocals

Digitally remastered

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO