Morel: Pièces de viole (1709) Fuoco E Cenere & Jay Bernfeld

Cover Morel: Pièces de viole (1709)

Album info



Label: Paraty

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Fuoco E Cenere & Jay Bernfeld

Composer: Jacques Morel (1700-1740)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.20
  • Jacques Morel (1680 - 1740): Suite premiere en La Mineur:
  • 1Suite premiere en La Mineur: I. Prelude03:54
  • 2Suite premiere en La Mineur: II. Allemande02:41
  • 3Suite premiere en La Mineur: III. Courante02:10
  • 4Suite premiere en La Mineur: IV. Sarabande. l'Agréable04:24
  • 5Suite premiere en La Mineur: V. Gigue02:07
  • 6Suite premiere en La Mineur: VI. La Bretonne03:40
  • 7Suite premiere en La Mineur: VII. Menuet & Autre Menuet02:26
  • Suite deuxième en Ré Mineur:
  • 8Suite deuxième en Ré Mineur: I. Prelude01:53
  • 9Suite deuxième en Ré Mineur: II. Allemande. La Jolie02:27
  • 10Suite deuxième en Ré Mineur: III. Courante. La Dacier01:32
  • 11Suite deuxième en Ré Mineur: IV. Sarabande03:25
  • 12Suite deuxième en Ré Mineur: V. Gigue, l'Inconstante01:30
  • 13Suite deuxième en Ré Mineur: VI. Le Folet01:29
  • 14Suite deuxième en Ré Mineur: VII. La Fanchonnette01:04
  • Suite troisième en Ré Majeur:
  • 15Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: I. Prelude02:18
  • 16Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: II. Boutade de Sainct Germain00:56
  • 17Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: III. Allemande la Brillante & Double02:31
  • 18Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: IV. Courante02:09
  • 19Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: V. Sarabande, l'Aurore02:57
  • 20Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: VI. Gigue a_ l'Angloise02:02
  • 21Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: VII. Gavotte00:51
  • 22Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: VIII. Fugue03:04
  • 23Suite troisième en Ré Majeur: IX. Echos de Fontainebleau02:19
  • Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur:
  • 24Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: I. Prelude01:44
  • 25Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: II. Fantaisie00:46
  • 26Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: III. Allemande02:38
  • 27Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: IV. Courante01:45
  • 28Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: V. Sarabande03:08
  • 29Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: VI. Gigue à l'Italienne01:37
  • 30Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: VII. Rondeau Dauphin04:31
  • 31Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: VIII. Menuet00:50
  • 32Suite quatrième en Sol Majeur: IX. La Guerandoise & Double00:45
  • Chaconne en trio en Sol Majeur:
  • 33Chaconne en trio en Sol Majeur06:28
  • Total Runtime01:18:01

Info for Morel: Pièces de viole (1709)

Anyone wishing to learn about Jacques Morel will be frustrated by an almost total lack of biographical documentation.

In view of his obvious compositional qualities, it is surprising not to find other traces of Jacques Morel, French baroque composer for violas and violist of the 17th century. We are fortunate, however, that his pieces have reached us, singing the glory of this golden age under the double sign of Apollo. For two decades, Fuoco E Cenere has been the theater of sensational musical adventures and continues to cultivate daring in its repertoire choices, always willing to offer a unique experience to the audience.

Fuoco E CenereJay Bernfeld, direction

Fuoco E Cenere
Now in its fifteenth year, Fuoco E Cenere has established itself as an arena for sensational musical adventures. The ensemble has ever since retained an often remarked daring in its choice of repertoire. Eager to preserve the unique freshness of the concert-going experience Fuoco E Cenere has devised quite a number of original entertainments, including recent intriguing mixes of music and puppetry, or music and haute cuisine.

Story telling through song and translating emotions and dreams into music are the missions we have readily accepted. In our musical laboratory we eagerly juxtapose, metamorphose outstanding works, permitting the listener to view these gems of a bygone era in a new light, frequently imagining entertainments that delight both young and old, the novice and the connoisseur.

Spurred on by director Jay Bernfeld’s love of song, Fuoco E Cenere has been pleased to collaborate with many of today’s finest voices as well as the stars of tomorrow. The ensemble is proud to have presented several forgotten masterpieces to an appreciative public. The ensemble boasts ten recordings covering 1000 years of music. Fantasy in Blue - Purcell meets Gershwin was hailed by Le Monde as a ‘veritable knock-out’. The ensemble’s recording of Marco da Gagliano’s little known masterpiece La Dafne was awarded the prestigious Orphée d’Or by the Académie du Disque Lyrique, and unanimously lauded by international critics.

Ardent defenders of a repertoire demonstrative of the elegant French virtuosity in the era of the Sun King Louis XIV, Fuoco E Cenere’s latest CD is dedicated to the works of Marin Marais, played by Jay Bernfeld, the ensemble’s director, accompanied by some of our closest musical friends, André Henrich, Bertrand Cuiller and Ronald Martin Alonso.

Booklet for Morel: Pièces de viole (1709)

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO