Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert & Others: Works for Viola & Piano (Live) Bernard Zaslav & Naomi Zaslav

Cover Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert & Others: Works for Viola & Piano (Live)

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 15.00
  • Pietro Nardini (1722 - 1793): Sonata for Viola & Piano in F Minor:
  • 1Sonata for Viola & Piano in F Minor: I. Allegro moderato (Live)03:59
  • 2Sonata for Viola & Piano in F Minor: II. Andante (Live)02:58
  • 3Sonata for Viola & Piano in F Minor: III. Allegretto (Live)02:50
  • Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828):
  • 4String Trio in B-Flat Major, D. 471 (Arr. for Viola & Piano) [Live]05:14
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Notturno in D Major, Op. 42:
  • 5Notturno in D Major, Op. 42: I. March - Allegro (Live)02:10
  • 6Notturno in D Major, Op. 42: II. Adagio (Live)04:33
  • 7Notturno in D Major, Op. 42: III. Minuetto - Allegretto (Live)02:02
  • 8Notturno in D Major, Op. 42: IV. Adagio - Scherzo. Allegro molto (Live)04:11
  • 9Notturno in D Major, Op. 42: V. Allegretto alla polacca (Live)03:14
  • 10Notturno in D Major, Op. 42: VI. Andante quasi allegretto (Live)07:29
  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Märchenbilder, Op. 113:
  • 11Märchenbilder, Op. 113: No. 1, Nicht schnell (Live)02:45
  • 12Märchenbilder, Op. 113: No. 2, Lebhaft (Live)04:01
  • 13Märchenbilder, Op. 113: No. 3, Rasch (Live)02:31
  • 14Märchenbilder, Op. 113: No. 4, Langsam, mit melancholischem Ausdruck (Live)04:42
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791):
  • 15Adagio in E Major, K. 261 (Arr. P. Klengel for Viola & Piano) [Live]06:59
  • 16Rondo in C Major, K. 373 (Arr. for Viola & Piano) [Live]06:17
  • Max Bruch (1838 - 1920):
  • 17Romance, Op. 85 (Version for Viola & Piano) [Live]06:21
  • Total Runtime01:12:16

Info for Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert & Others: Works for Viola & Piano (Live)

Brahms: Sonatas for Viola & Piano Joachim: Variations for Viola & Piano Reinecke: Fantasy for Viola & Piano Herzogenberg, Kiel, Fuchs, Sitt

Violists like to complain of the paucity of romantic music for their instrument, yet these two discs refute that contention. In addition to the famous two Brahms Sonatas, the discs feature unfamiliar, thoroughly Romantic works, by six of the composer's "friends." All are clearly influenced by Brahms and Schumann; indeed, the absence of the latter's "Märchenbilder" (Fairy Tale Pictures) is conspicuous and inexplicable. In a substantial set of Variations by Joseph Joachim, a lovely theme is transformed and developed in inventively contrasting ways, including a somber contrapuntal piece and a Hungarian semi-improvisation.

Three very Schumannesque "Phantasiestücke" (Fantasy Pieces) by Carl Reinecke, famous mostly for his "Undine" Flute Sonata, include a swooping Romance and a merry Humoresque. Similar in style but technically more brilliant are "Drei Romanzen" (Three Romances) by Friedrich Kiel. Heinrich von Herzogenberg, husband of Brahms's close friend and musical correspondent Elisabeth, contributes three very Brahmsian, melodious, passionate "Legenden" (Legends); Hans Sitt's "Albumblätter" (Album Leaves) display inventive harmonies, spoken phrasing, and effective instrumental writing; the final piece ends in mid-air. Probably the best composer is Robert Fuchs, whose "Sechs Phantasiestücke" (Six Fantasy Pieces) have adventurous harmonies, striking modulations, and strong contrasts of mood and character.

Letting the Brahms Sonatas open the program seems unfair to his "friends," though this can hardly have been the players' intention. Violist Bernard Zaslav and his pianist-wife Naomi are excellent, and they treat the music with total respect and love. The viola tone is beautiful, pure, warm, and expressive; ensemble and balance are first-rate. Their approach is lyrical, broad, expansive, noble, and inward, without external effects. The first Brahms Sonata is wistful, poetic, gracious; the second one smiles with autumnal benevolence. A worthy successor to the Zaslavs' Bloch disc on the same label, this is a splendid recording." (Edith Eisler)

Bernard Zaslav, viola
Naomi Zaslav, piano

The Zaslav Duo
Bernard and Naomi Zaslav, performing as the Zaslav Duo, have attained a high level of recognition for their concerts and recordings of the viola/piano repertory. Since their Carnegie Recital Hall debut in 1962, they have been acknowledged as pioneers in their field in performances of the standard literature, transcriptions of such works as the Frank A Major Violin Sonata and an entire album of music by Dvorak, and premieres of new composition written for them.

Bernard Zaslav has performed as viola soloist and as a member of the Kohon, Composers, Fine Arts, Vermeer and the Stanford String Quartets. He has toured worldwide and has held faculty positions at New York University, Columbia University, Northern Illinois University, Stanford University and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, where he was named Distinguished Professor. His discography currently includes 114 chamber works.

Naomi Zaslav, a pupil of Rosina Lhevinne at the Juilliard Graduate School, has appeared widely both as piano soloist and chamber-music artist. She has appeared frequently as guest artist with the Kohon, Composers, Fine Arts and Stanford String Quartets and with many other ensembles and artists, such as Barry Tuckwell. She was a faculty member at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and Northern Illinois University (Assistant Professor-Piano and Accompanying). She has performed in many music festivals in Maine, California, Arizona and New Mexico and has given master classes on "The Heritage of Josef and Rosina Lhevinne" for the International Piano Workshop at the University of Hawaii. Her new solo album, entitled "The Intimate Brahms" (CD#1031, on the Music and Arts of America label) contains 19 of her favorites among the late shorter works, Intermezzi and Capriccios and Ballade.

In 1993, after departing from the Stanford music faculty and the Quartet, Mr. Zaslav became a Resident Artist at Stanford's Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (CCRMA), using the digital editing and recording techniques learned there to produce a series of 5 CDs of viola/piano music by the Zaslav Duo for the Music & Arts Programs of America label.

The Zaslav Duo has given recitals in New York at The New School for Social Research, the Donnell Library, La Maison Francaise of New York University, the Village Gate, Brooklyn College, Carnegie Recital Hall, and Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center. They have also performed at the Phillips Gallery in Washington, D.C., the June Music Festival in Albuquerque, New Mexico, UC-Davis, Stanford University, the College of Notre Dame in Belmont, California and at American Viola Congresses in Toronto, Canada and Redlands, California. They have recorded for Radio Freies, Berlin, Germany, WFMT, Chicago, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, CRI and the Music & Arts Programs of America label.

Recordings by the Duo have received critical acclaim from Stereo Review ("Recording of Special Merit"), Devote magazine ("Debut Recording-Artist of the Year"), The STRAD, The New Records, The Los Angeles Times, American Record Guide,The New Records, Luister and Fanfare.

Booklet for Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert & Others: Works for Viola & Piano (Live)

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO