Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78 & Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 Utah Symphony Orchestra & Thierry Fischer

Album info



Label: Reference Recordings

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 192 $ 16.70
  • Sergei Prokofiev (1891 - 1953): Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78:
  • 1Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78: No. 1, Russia Under the Mongolian Yoke03:29
  • 2Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78: No. 2, Song About Alexander Nevsky03:50
  • 3Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78: No. 3, The Crusaders in Pskov07:28
  • 4Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78: No. 4, Arise, Men of Russia02:06
  • 5Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78: No. 5, The Battle on Ice13:46
  • 6Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78: No. 6, The Field of the Dead06:13
  • 7Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78: No. 7, Alexander's Entry into Pskov04:31
  • Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 (Version for Orchestra):
  • 8Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 (Version for Orchestra): I. Birth of Kijé03:58
  • 9Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 (Version for Orchestra): II. Romance03:51
  • 10Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 (Version for Orchestra): III. Kijé’s Wedding02:33
  • 11Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 (Version for Orchestra): IV. Troika02:42
  • 12Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 (Version for Orchestra): V. Kijé’s Funeral05:22
  • Total Runtime59:49

Info for Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78 & Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60

Reference Recordings is proud to present the Utah Symphony conducted by Thierry Fischer, in grand new performances of Alexander Nevsky and the Lieutenant Kijé Suite, two of his most brilliant and dramatic musical works. The music of Lieutenant Kijé was originally written as the score to the film of the same name, released in March 1934. It was Prokofiev's first film music and his first commission. Prokofiev soon adapted it into the five-movement Lieutenant Kijé Suite, first performed in December 1934, and which quickly became a favourite in the international concert repertoire. Then, in 1938, Prokofiev collaborated with film director Eisenstein to create the score for the film Alexander Nevsky. He later adapted much of his score into the large-scale cantata for mezzo-soprano, orchestra and chorus featured on this recording.

Founded in 1940, the Utah Symphony performs more than 175 concerts each season and offers patrons access to world-class live musical performances of the world’s greatest music in the state’s top venues. Since being named the orchestra’s seventh music director in 2009, Thierry Fischer has attracted leading musicians and top soloists, refreshed programming, drawn increased audiences, and galvanized community support. In addition to numerous regional and domestic tours, the Utah Symphony has made seven international tours and performed at Carnegie Hall in Spring 2016 coinciding with the orchestra’s 75th anniversary celebrations. The Utah Symphony has released more than 100 recordings, including recent Reference Recordings releases of Mahler’s Symphony no.1 and Symphony no.8, Andrew Norman’s Switch, Nico Muhly’s Control, and Augusta Read Thomas’s Eos.

This release was recorded and mastered by the team at Soundmirror, whose outstanding orchestral, solo, opera and chamber recordings have received more than 100 Grammy nominations and awards. For over 40 years, Soundmirror has recorded for every major classical record label, including Reference Recordings.

Alisa Kolosova, mezzo-soprano
Utah Symphony Orchestra
Utah Symphony Chorus
University of Utah A Cappella Choir
University of Utah Chamber Choir
Thierry Fischer, musical director
Barlow Bradford, director

The Utah Symphony
celebrating its 75th anniversary in the 2015-16 season, is one of America's major symphony orchestras and a leading cultural organization in the Intermountain West. It is recognized internationally for its distinctive performances, commitment to music education programs, and recording legacy. Reference Recordings joins Utah Symphony in thanks to their 75th Anniversary Signature Sponsor, the George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Foundation, for making this recording possible.

Founded in 1940, the Utah Symphony became recognized as a leading American ensemble largely through the efforts of Maurice Abravanel, Music Director from 1947 to 1979. During his tenure, the orchestra undertook four international tours, released numerous recordings and developed an extensive music education program. DAWN TO DUST furthers the tradition of outstanding contemporary American music from the Utah Symphony, and is the second in an ongoing Utah Symphony series from Reference Recordings.

The Utah Symphony has performed in many of the world's most prestigious concert halls including Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, Musikverein, Konzerthaus, Philharmonie, Schauspielhaus, Gewandhaus, Royal Festival Hall and Teatro Colón. The April release of DAWN TO DUST coincides with Utah Symphony's return to Carnegie Hall on April 29th for a concert in honor of their 75th anniversary.

Thierry Fischer
Music Director of the Utah Symphony since 2009, has revitalized the orchestra with creative programming and critically acclaimed performances that have drawn consistently full houses. Highlights of his tenure include complete symphony cycles of Mahler in commemoration of former Utah Symphony Music Director, Maurice Abravanel, complete Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Nielsen cycles, a multi-season Stravinsky and Haydn symphony cycle and the tour of Utah's five national parks. Mr. Fischer has also initiated a major commissioning program in Utah that has produced new works by Simon Holt, Michael Jarrell, and the works on this album by Nico Muhly, Andrew Norman, and Augusta Read Thomas.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO