Album info



Label: Bru Zane

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Opera

Artist: Les Musiciens du Louvre, Chœur de l'Opéra National de Bordeaux & Marc Minkowski 

Composer: Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.70
  • Jacques Offenbach (1819 - 1880): La Périchole, Acte I:
  • 1La Périchole, Acte I: Ouverture02:13
  • 2La Périchole, Acte I: Chœur "Du Vice-roi c'est aujourd'hui la fête"01:38
  • 3La Périchole, Acte I: Chansons des Trois Cousines "Promptes à servir"02:22
  • 4La Périchole, Acte I: Dialogue "Un mot, les trois cousines ?..."00:30
  • 5La Périchole, Acte I: Sortie et dialogue "Ah ! qu'on y fait gaîment glouglou"02:06
  • 6La Périchole, Acte I: Chœur "C'est lui, c'est notre Vice-roi !"00:41
  • 7La Périchole, Acte I: Couplets "Sans en rien souffler à personne"01:58
  • 8La Périchole, Acte I: Dialogue "Elle est gaie !"00:59
  • 9La Périchole, Acte I: Marche indienne00:26
  • 10La Périchole, Acte I: Entrée des chanteurs00:18
  • 11La Périchole, Acte I: Dialogue "Dis-moi, Piquillo ?..."00:32
  • 12La Périchole, Acte I: Complainte "Le conquérant dit à la jeune Indienne"02:31
  • 13La Périchole, Acte I: Dialogue "Allez !"00:37
  • 14La Périchole, Acte I: Séguedille "Vous a-t-on dit souvent"02:24
  • 15La Périchole, Acte I: Dialogue "Allons, messieurs, un peu de courage à la poche"10:11
  • 16La Périchole, Acte I: Couplets de la lettre "Ô mon cher amant, je te jure"02:59
  • 17La Périchole, Acte I: Dialogue "Me voilà, moi !"04:38
  • 18La Périchole, Acte I: Finale "Oh ! là ! hé !... holà ! de là-bas"02:33
  • 19La Périchole, Acte I: Couplets de la griserie "Ah ! quel dîner je viens de faire !"03:13
  • 20La Périchole, Acte I: Suite du Finale "Ah ! les autres étaient bien gris"02:39
  • 21La Périchole, Acte I: Duetto du mariage "Je dois vous prévenir, madame"01:39
  • 22La Périchole, Acte I: Suite du Finale "Mon Dieu !... que de cérémonie !..."04:31
  • La Périchole, Acte II:
  • 23La Périchole, Acte II: Entracte03:02
  • 24La Périchole, Acte II: Chœur des Dames de la cour "Cher seigneur, revenez à vous"01:20
  • 25La Périchole, Acte II: Dialogue "Une saltimbanque, mesdames !"02:11
  • 26La Périchole, Acte II: Cancans-couplets "On vante partout son sourire"02:22
  • 27La Périchole, Acte II: Dialogue "Comment z'à madame !...02:16
  • 28La Périchole, Acte II: Couplets "Et là, maintenant que nous sommes"02:09
  • 29La Périchole, Acte II: Dialogue "Ah ! j'ai fait ce que vous vouliez... »00:41
  • 30La Périchole, Acte II: Chœur de la présentation "Nous allons donc voir un mari"02:47
  • 31La Périchole, Acte II: Couplets "Que veulent dire ces colères"02:25
  • 32La Périchole, Acte II: Rondo de bravoure "Écoute, ô roi, je te présente"01:12
  • 33La Périchole, Acte II: Galop de l'arrestation "Sautez dessus !"01:09
  • 34La Périchole, Acte II: Rondo "Conduisez-le, bons courtisans"03:21
  • La Périchole, Acte III:
  • 35La Périchole, Acte III: Entracte02:10
  • 36La Périchole, Acte III: Dialogue "Je suis en train de m'évader..."01:47
  • 37La Périchole, Acte III: Couplets-Boléro "Les maris courbaient la tête"01:29
  • 38La Périchole, Acte III: Dialogue "Ah ! Ces messieurs qui viennent de sortir..."00:28
  • 39La Périchole, Acte III: Air "On me proposait d'être infâme"04:23
  • 40La Périchole, Acte III: Dialogue "Qui est là ? Qui va là ? »00:18
  • 41La Périchole, Acte III: Couplets de l'aveu "Dans ces couloirs obscurs"04:17
  • 42La Périchole, Acte III: Dialogue "Mon Piquillo !"00:33
  • 43La Périchole, Acte III: Trio "Je suis le joli geôlier"01:55
  • 44La Périchole, Acte III: Dialogue "Il est gentil ! ça va aller tout seul..."03:03
  • 45La Périchole, Acte III: Intermède symphonique01:01
  • 46La Périchole, Acte III: Dialogue "Périchole, j'espère que voilà un public..."00:22
  • 47La Périchole, Acte III: Complainte des amoureux "Écoutez, peup' d'Amérique"01:43
  • 48La Périchole, Acte III: Dialogue "Et maintenant, laisse-moi faire la quête"01:01
  • 49La Périchole, Acte III: Final "Tous deux, au temps de peine et de misère"01:43
  • Total Runtime01:42:46

Info for Offenbach: La Périchole

Offenbach’s La Périchole (1868) will never cease to delights music lovers of all persuasions. Marc Minkowski – long one of the composer’s prophets – was keen to pay tribute to him with this world premiere recording on period instruments, in the company of the young school of French singers, including the bewitching Aude Extrémo, the dashing Stanislas de Barbeyrac and the hilarious Alexandre Duhamel. Combining fashionable rhythms with the most unexpected touches of folklore, the score is a veritable flood of hit numbers. How can one not be swept away by the insolence of the Seguidilla, the frenzy of the Bolero or the furious rhythm of the Prison Trio? Never before, perhaps, had Offenbach gone so far in caricaturing political leaders – nor used drunkenness to resolve the imbroglio of inextricable sentimental relationships. And indeed, the ‘Tipsy Arietta’ is one of the composer's best-known numbers. Cheers!

Year 2019 marks the 200th anniversary of Offenbach’s birth, German by birth, he became French by personal order of Napoleon III; all of France danced and sang to his music under the Second Empire. In 1868, he composed a new score for Meilhac and Halévy’s quite risqué libretto: La Périchole would soon meet with great success. The street singer and her lover Piquillo become the Viceroy of Peru’s playthings: charmed by the Perichole, he makes her his “lady-in-waiting” while his steward recruits Piquillo to marry the prince’s future favourite to save appearances: the (drunk) lovers are married without knowing!

Misunderstandings and twists and turns abound to sparkling music and end with the triumph of love and buffoonery. Marc Minkowski is a staunch Offenbach champion and will conduct the evening with his usual energy, in a staging by Romain Gilbert.

Aude Extrémo, mezzosoprano (La Périchole)
Stanislas de Barbeyrac, tenor (Piquillo)
Alexandre Duhamel, baritone (Don Andrès de Rebeira)
Les Musiciens du Louvre
Chœur de l'Opéra National de Bordeaux
Marc Minkowski, direction

No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO