Franck, Poulenc & Strohl: Cello Sonatas Edgar Moreau

Cover Franck, Poulenc & Strohl: Cello Sonatas

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Rita Strohl (1865-1941): Great Dramatic Sonata, "Titus et Bérénice":
  • 1I. Allegro moderato13:01
  • 2II. Vivace - Molto movimento04:55
  • 3III. Lento, Tristamente07:32
  • 4IV. Allegro molto movimento09:40
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963): Cello Sonata, FP 143:
  • 5I. Allegro - Tempo di marcia05:58
  • 6II. Cavatine06:25
  • 7III. Ballabile03:22
  • 8IV. Finale07:08
  • César Franck (1822-1890): Violin Sonata in A Major, FWV 8:
  • 9I. Allegretto ben moderato (Arr. Delsart for Cello & Piano)06:36
  • 10II. Allegro (Arr. Delsart for Cello & Piano)08:36
  • 11III. Recitativo-Fantasia (ben moderato) [Arr. Delsart for Cello & Piano]07:16
  • 12IV. Allegretto poco mosso (Arr. Delsart for Cello & Piano)06:36
  • Fernand de la Tombelle (1854-1928):
  • 13Andante espressivo04:28
  • Francis Poulenc:
  • 14Souvenirs03:49
  • Total Runtime01:35:22

Info for Franck, Poulenc & Strohl: Cello Sonatas

Dass unter den jungen Cellostimmen der 1994 geborene Franzose Edgar Moreau unbestritten eine der aufregendsten ist, hat sich in den letzten Jahren herumgesprochen. Hochgelobt von Publikum und Kritik: seine ersten Alben und seine umjubelten Konzerte. Jetzt folgt die Nummer drei in seiner Erato-Diskografe – und die schlägt ein völlig neues Kapitel auf. Nicht nur, dass Moreau zwei Meilensteine der französischen spätromantischen Kammermusik in den Mittelpunkt des Doppelalbums stellt – er bietet auch noch eine Poulenc-Weltersteinspielung sowie zwei bisher kaum beachtete Repertoireentdeckungen!

Selten hat ein Kammermusikduo den französischen Sound der Zeit um 1900 so dicht und voller Überraschungen in ein Programm verpackt wie hier Moreau mit seinem Klavierpartner David Kadouch: César Francks berühmte A-Dur-Sonate und die Sonate von Francis Poulenc sind Recital-Säulen, zwischen denen die Künstler stilistisch passend weitere Juwelen bieten. So die große dramatische Sonate Titus et Bérénice der bislang fast vergessenen Rita Strohl (1865-1944), eine mitreißende musikalische Umsetzung des gleichnamigen Liebesdramas von Jean Racine – Frankreichs großem Nationaldichter der Barockzeit. Ebenfalls eine echte Entdeckung ist die Musik des auch als Klaviervirtuosen berühmt gewordenen Fernand de la Tombelle, der im Jahre 1900 sein Andante espressivo für Violoncello und Klavier komponierte. Poulencs Souvenirs hat bis dato noch nie eine Aufnahme erlebt.

Edgar Moreau, Cello
David Kadouch, Klavier

Edgar Moreau The French cellist Edgar Moreau, who turned 21 in 2015, can already look back on a number of exceptional achievements, among them becoming the winner – at the age of just 17 – of the Second Prize in Russia’s formidable Tchaikovsky Competition, winning the Young Soloist Prize in the 2009 Rostropovich Cello Competition in Paris, and performing with such distinguished musicians as Valery Gergiev, Gidon Kremer, András Schiff, Yuri Bashmet, Krzysztof Penderecki, Gustavo Dudamel, Renaud Capuçon, Nicholas Angelich, Frank Braley, Khatia Buniatishvili, Gérard Caussé and the Talich Quartet. In 2013 his huge potential was highlighted by France’s top music awards, Les Victoires de la Musique, which named him the year’s ‘Révélation’ among young classical instrumentalists.

He released his debut album in March 2014 on Erato with pianist Pierre-Yves Hodique: Play is a collection of short pieces and brilliant encores from Popper, Paganini, Chopin, Saint-Saëns, Fauré, Dvořák, Massenet, Schubert, Poulenc and Tchaikovsky among others. His follow-up album, Giovincello, presents 18th-century cello concertos recorded with the Italian Baroque ensemble Il Pomo d'Oro.

A Parisian by birth, Edgar Moreau first realised he wanted to play the cello when he was just four years old – the instrument caught his imagination when he saw a girl having a cello lesson in an antique shop he was visiting with his father. He began lessons soon afterwards, and was giving concerts with major orchestras by the time he was 11 years old. Since the age of 13 he has been a student at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris. He has participated in masterclasses given by such cellists as Lynn Harrell, Anner Bylsma, Miklós Perényi, Gary Hoffman and David Geringas, and since October 2013 has been attending the Kronberg Academy near Frankfurt – home to the Emanuel Feuermann Conservatory, named after the legendary Ukrainian-born cellist.

When the editor of the international music website Bachtrack saw Edgar Moreau perform in Gstaad in early 2013, he had the following to say: “One always comes to a young musician’s concert with a hope that this will be that special day when you hear a performer who you are absolutely sure will be a star of the future. That hope only comes to fruition on a small number of occasions: this concert was one of them. I'm willing to take bets that nineteen year-old Parisian cellist Edgar Moreau is going to have a glittering career ... His playing is muscular and he throws himself into the music ... and Moreau has bags of stage presence, with a flexible face which can turn from smile to grimace and back in an instant but always shows deep involvement with the music ... Even at such a young age, Moreau can completely win over an audience with his big sound and no-holds-barred style. I think he's going to be a winner.”

Booklet for Franck, Poulenc & Strohl: Cello Sonatas

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO