Ten Years of Musica Italiana Gianandrea Noseda

Cover Ten Years of Musica Italiana

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 17,80
  • Alfredo Casella (1883 - 1947): Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 12:
  • 1II. Allegro molto vivace08:43
  • La donna serpente Suite No. 2, Op. 50ter:
  • 2I. Sinfonia. Allegro vivacissimo05:25
  • 3II. Preludio. Lento, ma non troppo06:39
  • Concerto for Orchestra, Op. 61:
  • 4I. Sinfonia08:21
  • Luigi Dallapiccola (1904 - 1975): Tartiniana:
  • 5I. Larghetto, molto espressivo, ma semplice -02:05
  • 6II. Allegro misurato02:54
  • Frammenti sinfonici:
  • 7Sostenuto, ma deciso - Danza di Apollo -03:08
  • 8Ultima Danza di Marsia03:59
  • Partita:
  • 9III. Recitativo e fanfara05:21
  • Three Questions with Two Answers:
  • 10IV. Largamente03:48
  • Ottorino Respighi (1879 - 1936): La boutique fantasque, P. 120:
  • 11Nocturne (After Rossini)04:31
  • 12Galop (After Rossini)04:42
  • Burlesca, P. 59:
  • 13Burlesca, P. 5907:27
  • 5 Etudes-tableaux, P. 160:
  • 14No. 3, Funeral March (After Rachmaninov's Op. 39, No. 7)07:28
  • 15No. 4, Red Riding Hood and the Wolf (After Rachmaninov's Op. 39, No. 6)03:01
  • Giuseppe Verdi (1813 - 1901): I vespri siciliani:
  • 16Sinfonia08:14
  • 4 Pezzi sacri:
  • 17No. 4, Te Deum15:58
  • Goffredo Petrassi (1904 - 2003): Magnificat:
  • 18Et misericordia ejus - Gloria Patri, et Filio14:24
  • Psalm IX, Pt. II:
  • 19Exultabo in salutari tuo - Constitue, Domine, legislatorem super eos09:11
  • Partita for Orchestra:
  • 20I. Gagliarda05:14
  • Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari (1876 - 1948): La dama boba:
  • 21Overture08:16
  • Giacomo Puccini (1858 - 1924):
  • 22Suor Angelica: Intermezzo03:36
  • Umberto Giordano (1867 - 1948): Siberia, Act II:
  • 23Prelude04:01
  • Amilcare Ponchielli (1834 - 1886): La Gioconda, Act III:
  • 24Dance of the Hours08:54
  • Pietro Mascagni (1863 - 1945): L'amico Fritz:
  • 25L'amico Fritz: Intermezzo04:55
  • Total Runtime02:40:15

Info zu Ten Years of Musica Italiana

This special ‘2for1’ compilation release celebrates ten years of Gianandrea Noseda’s Musica Italiana series. Recording with both the BBC Philharmonic and the Orchestra Teatro Regio Torino, Noseda has shown a remarkable commitment to championing long-forgotten scores by well-known composers as well as the finest works by altogether neglected ones.

On the first album he revives several works long absent from the concert hall. His recordings of the Symphony No. 2, Symphonic Fragments and Concerto for Orchestra excerpted here have brought Casella’s music to a new and passionate audience. Luigi Dallapiccola, a composer particularly close to Noseda’s heart, is known for his lyrical, Italianate take on Schoenberg’s twelve-tone system; three contrasting works are represented here. Noseda’s highly acclaimed Respighi recordings heard here look beyond the tone poems for which the composer is best known, shining a light on some equally ravishing scores.

The second album presents a collection of orchestral movements from the richly romantic Italian operatic repertoire of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Alongside works by the towering masters Verdi and Puccini are less familiar works by Wolf-Ferrari, Giordano, Ponchielli, and Mascagni. Completing this celebration of Italian music are substantial excerpts from choral works by Goffredo Petrassi, taken from a recording that was widely praised, earning a BBC Music Magazine Award nomination

“… all of the performances on this 2-CD set are brilliantly executed, exciting, and engaging… Soprano Cvilak is remarkably good in her solo portions of the first-name work, as is the superb singing of the Teatro Regio, Turin chorus. Noseda is to be commended for making their orchestra and chorus first-rate aggregations…” (Lynn René Bayley, Fanfare)

“…this two-for-one (’241’) compilation marks ten years of Chandos’s generally excellent, green-tabbed ‘Musica Italiana’ series of releases. These are mostly performed by the BBC Philharmonic, but all fittingly conducted by one of Italy’s finesse conductors, Gianandrea Noseda. Noseda has emerged as a Järvi-like champion of under-exposed composers from his homeland: a number of the ten or so Chandos discs from which these tracks are drawn are classics in their own right. Engaging music is delivered with poise and power from the BBC Philharmonic and indeed the Toscanini-founded orchestra Teatro Regio Torino under Noseda’s attentive eye/ear… there is nothing here not to like … Sound quality is good throughout … Noseda’s enthusiasm and intelligence should persuade listeners that acquisition of any or all of the original albums would constitute a sound musical investment…” (Byzantion, MusicWeb-International)

Orchestra Teatro Regio Torino
BBC Philharmonic
Gianandrea Noseda, conductor

Gianandrea Noseda

Music Director of the Teatro Regio in Turin (TRT) Chief Conductor of the BBC Philharmonic Victor De Sabata Guest Conductor of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra Principal Conductor of the Orquesta de Cadaqués Artistic Director of the Stresa Festival

Gianandrea Noseda became the first foreign Principal Guest Conductor at the Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg in 1997 where he also set up with Valery Gergiev the ‘Mariinsky Young Philharmonic Orchestra’, and served as its Principal Conductor. Principal Guest Conductor of the Rotterdam Philharmonic (1999-2003) and of the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI (2003-2006).

Born in Milan, Gianandrea Noseda appears all over the world with orchestras such as the New York Philharmonic, the Chicago Symphony, the Pittsburgh Symphony,the Boston Symphony , the London Symphony Orchestra, the Oslo Philharmonic, the NHK Symphony Orchestra in Japan, and the Israel Philharmonic. In Italy, he regularly conducts the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, the Filarmonica della Scala and Santa Cecilia Orchestras.

Gianandrea Noseda’s intense collaboration with the BBC Philharmonic includes studio recordings, subscription concerts at the Bridgewater Hall, the annual appearance at the Proms in London and an extensive touring activity in Italy, Czech Republic, Spain, Austria, Germany and Japan. Live performances of Beethoven’s complete symphonies from the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester by the BBC Philharmonic conducted by Gianandrea Noseda in 2005 have attracted 1.4 million download requests in a BBC trial which was offered as part of Radio 3’s The Beethoven Experience. In the following years, complete cycle of the symphonies by Tchaikovsky, Schumann and Brahms have been made available on download to the worldwide audience by the record company Chandos Records.

Gianandrea Noseda led the Mariinsky Theatre – both on tour and in St. Petersburg – in new productions of opera and ballet: he has presented for the first time ever in St. Petersburg La sonnambula, Così fan tutte and Puccini’s Il trittico. Since then he has been returning every summer for the “Stars of White Nights Festival”. In 2002 he made his Metropolitan Opera debut, conducting Prokofiev’s War and Peace followed by La forza del destino ,Un ballo in maschera and the new production of Il trovatore . Future projects with the MET include La traviata (2010), Lucia di Lammermoor (on tour in Japan in 2011) and Macbeth (2012).

Booklet für Ten Years of Musica Italiana

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO