Album info



Label: Judith Davidoff e New York Consort of Viols [dist. Tratore]

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Judith Davidoff & New York Consort of Viols

Composer: Giovanni Coperario, John Dowland (1563-1626), William Brade (1560-1630), William Lawes (1602-1645), Johann Hermann Schein (1586-1630), William Byrd (1543-1623)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 10.30
  • Giovanni Coperario (1570 - 1626): Fantasia in C Major:
  • 1Coperario: Fantasia in C Major02:25
  • John Dowland (1563 - 1626): Semper Dowland Semper Dolens:
  • 2Dowland: Semper Dowland Semper Dolens04:15
  • The King of Denmark's Galiard:
  • 3Dowland: The King of Denmark's Galiard01:14
  • The Earl of Essex Galiard:
  • 4Dowland: The Earl of Essex Galiard01:21
  • M. Henry Noel His Galiard:
  • 5Dowland: M. Henry Noel His Galiard01:43
  • M. Giles Hobies Galiard:
  • 6Dowland: M. Giles Hobies Galiard01:25
  • M. Nicholas Gryffith His Galiard:
  • 7Dowland: M. Nicholas Gryffith His Galiard01:45
  • M. Thomas Collier His Galiard:
  • 8Dowland: M. Thomas Collier His Galiard01:23
  • Captain Digorie Piper His Galiard:
  • 9Dowland: Captain Digorie Piper His Galiard01:32
  • M. Bucton's Galiard:
  • 10Dowland: M. Bucton's Galiard01:15
  • Mrs. Nichols Almand:
  • 11Dowland: Mrs. Nichols Almand00:37
  • M. George Whitehead His Almand:
  • 12Dowland: M. George Whitehead His Almand01:15
  • William Brade (1560 - 1630): Canzon:
  • 13Brade: Canzon03:09
  • Consort Suite in G Minor - Fantasia:
  • 14Lawes: Consort Suite in G Minor - Fantasia03:10
  • Consort Suite in G Minor - on the Plainsong:
  • 15Lawes: Consort Suite in G Minor - on the Plainsong04:01
  • Consort Suite in G Minor - Air:
  • 16Lawes: Consort Suite in G Minor - Air01:35
  • Johann Hermann Schein (1586 - 1630): Suite No. 3 - Pavane:
  • 17Schein: Suite No. 3 - Pavane03:04
  • Suite No. 3 - Gagliarde:
  • 18Schein: Suite No. 3 - Gagliarde01:17
  • Suite No. 3 - Courante:
  • 19Schein: Suite No. 3 - Courante01:18
  • Suite No. 3 - Aiiemande and Tripla a 4:
  • 20Schein: Suite No. 3 - Aiiemande and Tripla a 400:55
  • William Byrd (1543 - 1623): The Leaves Be Green:
  • 21Byrd: The Leaves Be Green04:43
  • Clement Woodcock (1540 - 1590): "browning" Fantasy:
  • 22Woodcock: "browning" Fantasy02:15
  • Total Runtime45:37

Info for English Consort Music

This beautiful album of English Consort pieces contains a rich collection of fantasias, dances and suites from the 16th and 17th centuries. A delight! Contains printed music score, and access to recorded accompaniments.

Judith Davidoff, viola da gamba
New York Consort of Viols

Judith Davidoff
(21 October 1927 – 19 December 2021) was an American viol player, cellist, and performer on the medieval bowed instruments. She was considered "a master of the viola da gamba and other stringed instruments" and "a central part of the early-music scene." Her recorded performances reflect her wide range of repertoire and styles, including such works as Schoenberg's Verklaerte Nacht and 13th-century monody. She is responsible for the catalog of 20th- and 21st-century viol music.

New York Consort of Viols
The New York Consort of Viols, originally part of New York Pro Musica, was incorporated in 1972 under the artistic direction of Judith Davidoff.

The groups' purpose is to bring to life the enormous repertoire of music for viols and viol consort written during the Renaissance and Baroque eras. The Consort has also commissioned new works which exploit the resources of viols in contemporary idioms.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO