Nocturnal (Works by Britten, de Falla, Rodrigo, Schmitz, Gilardino) Aniello Desiderio

Cover Nocturnal (Works by Britten, de Falla, Rodrigo, Schmitz, Gilardino)

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976):
  • 1Nocturnal after John Dowland for Guitar, Op. 70: Musingly - Very agitated - Restless - Uneasy - March-Like - Dreaming - Gently Rocking - Passacaglia - Slow and Quiet20:10
  • Manuel de Falla (1976-1946):
  • 2Homenaje, pièce de guitare écrite pour "Le Tombeau de Claude Debussy"03:43
  • Joaquín Rodrigo (1901-1999):
  • 3Invocación y danza for Guitar (Homenaje a Manuel de Falla)09:11
  • Georg Schmitz:
  • 4Rondeau für Gitarre Solo "Wie die Nacht übers Land kommt": Langsam - Quasi tremolando - Nicht zu langsam - Allegro cantabile - Eher schnell - Versunken11:43
  • Angelo Gilardino (1941- ):
  • 5Studio No. 4 for Guitar: Elegia di Marzo06:01
  • 6Studio No. 18 for Guitar: El Rosario (Omaggio a Manuel de Falla)07:06
  • 7Studio No. 19 for Guitar: Jondo (Omaggio a Joaquín Turina)04:29
  • 8Studio No. 23 for Guitar: Noche Oscura04:49
  • Total Runtime01:07:12

Info for Nocturnal (Works by Britten, de Falla, Rodrigo, Schmitz, Gilardino)

Artists have drawn inspiration from the mysterious aura of the night since time immemorial. And, in this new album from Aniello Desiderio, one of the world’s most talented guitarists, all the pieces chosen also pay homage to the nocturnal realm and its unique magic.

Whilst Benjamin Britten’s famous Nocturnal and Georg Schmitz’s Wie die Nacht übers Land kommt – a work making its global recording début here – reference the night-time element in their very titles, the pieces by Manuel de Falla, Joaquín Rodrigo and Angelo Gilardino also share a bond with the mystical darkness, although in this case one that all too often remains unrecognised. The finesse of feeling in Aniello Desiderio’s interpretation allows the listener to really experience the hidden nature and special magic of the night in the various pieces for guitar selected for the album. The astounding sound and the multifaceted, incomparably dynamic playing of the virtuoso from Naples conjure up the night and invite every music lover to immerse themselves in it. Thanks not least to a production in supreme audiophile quality, this album will whisk its audience off on an unparalleled, deluxe personal voyage of listening discovery.

Aniello Desiderio, classical guitar

Aniello Desiderio
born on 13 June 1971 in Naples, is one of the world’s greatest guitarists. He combines his phenomenal virtuosity with the highest level of musicality, and his unique and o en surprising interpretations fascinate audiences and critics alike. Born into a musical family, Aniello started playing the guitar when he was four and gave his first performance at the tender age of eight. One year later, the child prodigy was featured on the Italian television channel RAI UNO, and while still in his teens he began to win his first awards at guitar competitions. Since then, the artist, who is reverentially called “Il Fenomeno” in his native Italy, has collected a total of 18 first prizes at international competitions, that bear witness to his outstanding talent. A er hearing him play, the conductor Lorin Maazel revealed: “Ever since I was a child, I have loved the guitar; today I have heard the real sound of this instrument.” Aniello has been taking this special sound out into the world for many years, giving recitals and performing with renowned orchestras and chamber ensembles. His extraordinary playing has won him admirers all around the world.

Booklet for Nocturnal (Works by Britten, de Falla, Rodrigo, Schmitz, Gilardino)

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO