Moondog Matinee (Remastered) The Band

Album info



Label: Capitol Records

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Classic Rock

Artist: The Band

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Ain't Got No Home03:24
  • 2Holy Cow03:21
  • 3Share Your Love With Me02:55
  • 4Mystery Train05:41
  • 5The Third Man Theme02:46
  • 6The Promised Land03:01
  • 7The Great Pretender03:10
  • 8I'm Ready03:26
  • 9Saved03:49
  • 10A Change Is Gonna Come04:18
  • Total Runtime35:51

Info for Moondog Matinee (Remastered)

The Band started their career with two stunningly perfect albums in '68 and '69 „Music From Big Pink“ and „The Band“, respectively). An edgy comment on their newfound fame, „Stage Fright“, came in '70. Then an album of scattered focus „Cahoots“ and a brilliant live retrospective „Rock Of Ages“ followed over the next two years.

Whether or not the well of new material was running dry, The Band wisely chose to take some of the pressure off by revisiting their days as The Hawks for this 1973 set of covers. From the Levon Helm-sung 'Ain't Got No Home' (the Clarence 'Frogman' Henry song) which opens the set, to the soaring Richard Manuel vocal on Sam Cooke's 'A Change Is Gonna Come,' everything and everybody shines here. Robbie Robertson's sassy riffing on 'Mystery Train,' Garth Hudson's oozing and undulating organ beds, and that always- perfect rhythm section--this is a brilliant display of great interpretive skills wedded to great songs.

„The Band essentially went back to being the Hawks of the late 1950s and early '60s on this album of cover tunes. They demonstrated considerable expertise on their versions of rock & roll and R&B standards like Clarence 'Frogman' Henry's 'Ain't Got No Home,' Chuck Berry's 'The Promised Land,' and Fats Domino's 'I'm Ready,' but of course that didn't do much to satisfy the audience they had established with their original material and that, two years after the disappointing Cahoots, was waiting for something in the same.“ (William Ruhlmann, All-Music Guide)

Robbie Robertson, guitar, keyboards, vocals
Rick Danko, bass, violin, vocals
Levon Helm, guitar, drums, vocals
Garth Hudson, keyboards, saxophone
Ben Keith, steel guitar
Richard Manuel, drums, keyboards, vocals
Billy Mundi, drums (on „Mystery Train“)

Recorded at Bearsville Sound Studios in Bearsville, New York and capitol Studios in Hollywood, California Engineered by Jay Ranellucci, John Wilson and Mark Harman Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Sterling Sound

Digitally remastered

THE LAST WALTZ is the document of the Band's 1976 farewell performance, filmed as a documentary by Martin Scorsese, capturing the all-star concert for posterity. Sort of a rock version of "This Is Your Life," THE LAST WALTZ brought together performers from all phases of the group's career, giving them a chance to pay tribute and jam with the Band one last time. Many of the group's classics are reprised, but there are some notable standouts. Legendary Canadian rocker Ronnie Hawkins, who the Band backed in their early days as The Hawks, offers "Who Do You Love." After their tenure with Hawkins, the group went on to accompany Bob Dylan on some of his earliest electric sessions. Dylan returns the favor by performing a strong folk-blues medley beginning and ending with a fiery, rocking version of "Baby Let Me Follow You Down." Muddy Waters gives a lesson in the blues on "Mannish Boy," with the late great Paul Butterfield on harmonica. Eric Clapton offers his own polished version of the blues with a blistering "Further On Up The Road." Emmylou Harris, a highlight in any setting, duets on the gentle waltz "Evangeline." Dr. John's accurate and rousing "Such A Night" brings a bit of Mardi Gras to the proceedings. Joni Mitchell provides another pleasant change of pace, introducing her jazz-inflected sound with "Coyote," and joining in on soulful soaring harmonies with Neil Young on his classic "Helpless." Even Neil Diamond joins in on the fun, on a song he co-wrote with Robbie Robertson (who produced Diamond's BEAUTIFUL NOISE). Although not the last track on the disc, the Dylan-led all-star rendition of the Band/Dylan classic "I Shall Be Released" is the emotional climax of one of the most important performances in contemporary music.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO