Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 4, 8 & 11 Carducci String Quartet

Cover Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 4, 8 & 11

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.50
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1975): String Quartet No. 4 in D Major, Op. 83:
  • 1I. Allegretto03:58
  • 2II. Andantino06:57
  • 3III. Allegretto04:06
  • 4IV. Allegretto09:57
  • String Quartet No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 110:
  • 5I. Largo -05:01
  • 6II. Allegro molto -02:48
  • 7III. Allegretto -04:19
  • 8IV. Largo -05:28
  • 9V. Largo03:55
  • String Quartet No. 11 in F Minor, Op. 122:
  • 10I. Introduction: Andantino02:10
  • 11II. Scherzo: Allegretto02:49
  • 12III. Recitative: Adagio01:11
  • 13IV. Etude: Allegro01:19
  • 14V. Humoresque: Allegro01:06
  • 15VI. Elegie: Adagio04:09
  • 16VII. Finale: Moderato03:25
  • Total Runtime01:02:38

Info for Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 4, 8 & 11

Carducci Quartet launches Shostakovich15 – its project to perform all 15 of Shostakovich’s string quartets in 2015. Commemorating 40 years since Shostakovich’s death, Carducci Quartet performs several complete cycles throughout the year and releases this recording of Shostakovich’s fourth, eighth and eleventh string quartets – all landmark works in the string quartet repertory.

"The performances are both polished and passionate." (The Sunday Times)

"Great musical flair...the Carducci's are superb here." (Music Web International)

"Their warmly engineered release of three of the Russian master's quartets is undoubtedly a fine achievement, boasting excellent ensemble, musical insight and sensitive attention to detail...cellist Emma Denton not only provides a solid foundation for the group as a whole, but is particularly eloquent in solo passages." (BBC Music Magazine)

"[The Carducci Quartet] clearly have the technical measure of these three highly contrasting works from Shostakovich's quartet output...this well-recorded disc holds out much promise of things to come." (Gramophone)

Carducci String Quartet

No biography found.

Booklet for Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 4, 8 & 11

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO