Greatest Hits Volume One: A Slight Case Of Overbombing (Remastered) The Sisters Of Mercy

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Under The Gun 05:44
  • 2Temple of Love 08:07
  • 3Vision Thing07:36
  • 4Detonation Boulevard 03:50
  • 5Doctor Jeep 03:02
  • 6More 08:24
  • 7Lucretia My Reflection 08:43
  • 8Dominion / Mother Russia 07:05
  • 9This Corrosion 10:17
  • 10No Time To Cry 03:57
  • 11Walk Away 03:23
  • 12Body And Soul 03:33
  • Total Runtime01:13:41

Info for Greatest Hits Volume One: A Slight Case Of Overbombing (Remastered)

A Slight Case of Overbombing: Greatest Hits Volume One is a collection of all A-sides of The Sisters of Mercy UK-singles released since the band was signed to Time Warner. Non UK singles like "When You Don't See Me" aren't present, however "Vision Thing (Canadian Club Mix)" and "Detonation Boulevard (Radio Edit)", two North-American Promo singles are included. It was released on 23 August 1993 on the band's own label, Merciful Release, (under distribution contract with EastWest).

"A Slight Case of Overbombing gathered together material from goth merchants the Sisters of Mercy's three major-label releases. That fact immediately sets the stage for complaints from longtime fans desiring their indie music. However, for the listener more familiar with the band's mid- to late-'80s college radio tracks, this is a very good collection. The lyrics are rather pointless and Andrew Eldritch's vocals lack dynamics, but his singing has personality that overcomes his limitations. It's the edgy, hard gothic rock of the music that is their strength. There's an undeniable pull to songs like the galloping "This Corrosion" or the epic "More" (both produced by Jim Steinman). There's also a mix of "Temple of Love," featuring Ofra Haza, and an unreleased track, "Under the Gun." Not essential, but a good record for the casual fan (although more extensive liner notes would have been nice)." (Tom Demalon, AMG)

The Sisters Of Mercy

Produced by Andrew Eldritch

Digitally remastered

The Sisters of Mercy
are a rock band formed in Leeds, England in 1977, when guitarist Gary Marx and then drummer Andrew Eldritch "just wanted to hear themselves on the radio." Widely regarded as Goth Rock by their fans, but Eldritch denounced this label himself, preferring to call The Sisters an "Industrial Groove Machine."

The band's lineup is ever changing, with the exception of Andrew Eldritch (vocals, guitar, keyboards) and Doktor Avalanche (a drum machine). Past members include, but are not limited to: Ben Gunn (who ran away to play in a band called Torch in 1983), Gary Marx (who ran away to form Ghost Dance in 1985), Wayne Hussey and Craig Adams (who ran away to form The Mission), Patricia Morrison (who ran away after Andrew didn't pay her for playing on Floodland), Tony James (ex-Generation X and Sigue Sigue Sputnik, who ran away after Vision Thing).

They were on a hiatus between 1993-1996, and they've been back together ever since. People don't seem to know this, however, because Andrew Eldritch refuses to release any of the new material he's written and recorded in the past 17 years — enough new songs to fill a couple of albums. They still tour frequently though, for what it's worth, and play these new songs live often. …

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO