From A to Beginning Gregor McEwan

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 9.00
  • 1(Hope You Stay) Here for Tonight00:27
  • 2<< Rewind, Retrack, Rename, Restore04:10
  • 3The Wrinkle in Time03:12
  • 4You and I03:13
  • 5Alderaan03:05
  • 6Green Mile03:35
  • 7On Her Radar03:03
  • 8[Untitled]01:53
  • 9Anywhere, Anytime, Anything03:58
  • 10Blankets of Snow03:10
  • 11Home04:10
  • 12Breathe In / Breathe Out04:08
  • 1319.07.1303:03
  • 14From A to Beginning03:19
  • Total Runtime44:26

Info for From A to Beginning

Even though he's one of Germany’s most gifted singer/songwriters he goes well beyond the boundaries of the genre. Gregor McEwan is more like his own cinemascope version of a musician than just another guy with an acoustic guitar and his third album keeps everything his earlier works have promised. This one will put honey on your wounds.

Everyone loves to remember the carefree days on Alderaan. Spending your days on a peaceful planet when the sky suddenly darkens, then the Empire strikes first and suddenly you are sitting on a pile of space garbage drifting aimlessly through space. F*ck you, Death Star!

For the duration of the song "Alderaan" Gregor McEwan brings Princess Leia Organa's home planet back to life - but even without being at home in the "Star Wars" franchise you can relate to the longing conjured up. On "From A To Beginning" the hairy Berliner-by-choice repeatedly speaks about how being objected to time and constant change feels. Good as evil alike turn to dust - and how in hell do you deal with it?

Despite all his brilliance in D♭-minor Gregor McEwan is not only a chronologist of melancholia but also a hopeless romantic.

The song "On Her Radar" manages to translate the topic of love into a modern-day song without a trace of kitsch. And although you have seen or even felt a hundred times how even the biggest of loves can be corroded by this godforsaken passing of time - it doesn’t mean that “You And I“ can’t make it this time. A single kiss against this transient life.

Gregor McEwan has had his share of trouble, after his second record the talented one-man army with the squad of musical friends had to take some time off his service. The eternal loop of creative self-exploitation did not lead him anywhere. The 35-year old discarded new songs and lyrics and was forced to take a break - for more than just a pit stop or a night at a roadside motel.

In the following hiatus Gregor McEwan found the puzzle pieces that were missing and the songs on "From A To Beginning" show his personal mastery. The attention to detail and the time invested are audible throughout the record. The panorama of sounds and ideas has always been his strong suit - but it’s incredible to hear what kind of impact it has when you give it the room to breathe.

Gregor McEwan is not your regular barstool musician who locks himself in the studio and allows his songs one or two string sections. No, different approaches, influences and instruments join forces here, Emo from The Get Up Kids or The Promise Ring meets traditional songwriting; Folk, Dance and movie soundtracks/scores meet Country. Every track gets its own instrumentation but all these details are never an end in itself but always a means to an end: They serve the song.

On this quirky yet trenchant planet by the name of McEwan you want to let time wash over you. Everything’s Not Lost on this planet, music sometimes sounds as if Evan Dando had released another bittersweet masterpiece such as "Come on Feel the Lemondheads". Here it is warm, intimate and comforting, often even funny and loud. The Empire won’t find you here anytime soon.

Gregor McEwan
“I was born in 1982, grew up on a quiet avenue“, mit diesen Worten beginnt Gregor McEwan den Titel “Rhododendron“, schwelgend in Erinnerungen an Heimat und Familie. Besser kann sich ein Musiker dem Hörer wohl kaum vorstellen. Auch wenn er die "quiet avenue" inzwischen gegen laute Berliner Großstadtstraßen getauscht hat, ist der Dorf-Romantiker aus McEwan einfach nicht herauszubekommen. Auf “Much Ado About Loving“ geht es nämlich mal wieder um sie: Die Liebe... in all ihren Formen, mit all ihren Dramen. So hätte sich wohl selbst der Altmeister des Dramas, William Shakespeare, geehrt gefühlt, dass sein Stück “Much Ado About Nothing“ (zu Deutsch: Viel Lärm um nichts) als Inspirationsschub für diesen grandiosen zweiten Streich des Gregor McEwan diente. Viel Lärm um die Liebe, viel Lärm um zweite Alben, viel Lärm... zu Recht! Im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Gitarrenjungs geht es hier nämlich nicht um das große Jammern, zur Schau gestelltes Selbstmitleid oder schmerzhaftes Hin- und Hergewälze. Nein, es ist viel mehr als das: Die Liebe zur Natur, zur Heimat, zur Familie. Verliebtsein, Nicht-mehr-Verliebtsein-wollen, enttäuschte Liebe und ja... sogar die körperliche Liebe. Für sein Debut Album "Houses And Homes" hatte McEwan neben unzähligen Vorschusslorbeeren auch Vergleiche mit internationalen Größen wie Ryan Adams, Damien Rice, City And Colour, Bright Eyes oder Glen Hansard erhalten. Nicht die schlechteste Gesellschaft, wie er selber findet... Derartige Gegenüberstellungen können aber mitunter auch unbequem sein. Vielleicht ist "Much Ado About Loving" gerade deshalb solch eine vielseitige künstlerische Weiterentwicklung geworden. Schon der Opener beginnt so überraschend und mutig, dass dieses Album definitiv als Gesamtwerk verstanden werden muss. Und so verwundert es nicht, dass man sogar ein Genre antrifft, welches man erst noch auf den Namen Folklor(e)core taufen müsste. So finden sich charmante Ennio Morricone Zitate, wuchtig-hallige Drums und seichte, elektronische Samples, aber auch “altbekanntes“ wie verträumte Cello-Klänge, treibende Banjo-Pickings, sphärische E-Gitarrensounds und schwere Klavierakkorde. Zudem wird, wie bereits auf dem Debut, auch "Much Ado About Loving" durch wunderschöne Duette mit Tess Wiley abgerundet. Gregor McEwan hat auch diesmal wieder zusammen mit Dinesh Ketelsen (Ex-Nationalgalerie, Fink) in Hamburg produziert, der abermals ein gutes Gespür für einen ehrlichen und unmittelbaren Sound bewiesen hat. Und auch textlich ist von spannenden Wortspielen ("I was crossed in love until you crossed my way") über Zeilen, deren Erkenntnis ein Erkennen voraussetzen (“when the only thing that stands between you and her is and"), bis hin zu Passagen, welche Musik-Connaisseuren den Musikgeschmack McEwans verraten könnten ("summer dies the same way every fall") alles vertreten.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO