Formations Julia Gjertsen

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 11.00
  • Julia Gjertsen:
  • 1Gjertsen: Entrance02:43
  • 2Gjertsen: Out of Square03:24
  • 3Gjertsen: Falling in Circles04:12
  • 4Gjertsen: Ambivalence03:50
  • 5Gjertsen: Washed Away03:33
  • 6Gjertsen: Sakte03:29
  • 7Gjertsen: Falling in Keys04:14
  • 8Gjertsen: Cause and Effect03:13
  • 9Gjertsen: All Within04:08
  • 10Gjertsen: Exit04:40
  • Total Runtime37:26

Info for Formations

Sound formations in neoclassical ambient: Norwegian composer and pianist Julia Gjertsen is set to release her sophomore album. There is such music, to which a certain magic is attached. It slowly envelops you, draws the listener under its spell, with catchy melodies and aesthetic fascination to take you to faraway places and dimensions. A Scandinavian who lives out the Nordic melancholy with heart and soul, Julia Gjertsen from Oslo proved this with the album "Fragile" from 2019. This month, the follow-up work is due with the title "Formations", which acoustically seamlessly continues its own style from the predecessor. Between romanticism and melancholy, in the dimensions of acoustic aesthetics and poetry is the music of the Norwegian settled.

"I’ve covered Julia before, in particular, her collaboration with Nico Rosenberg (including the latest release on Constellation Tatsu), but for Formations, it’s nice to hear her play alone again. Besides the solo piano pieces on the album, which are entangled with reverb, some echoes and looped repetitions, the passages are processed with a rhythmic, borderline percussive brush. My favourite piece on the album, which was already released by the label as a single, is called “Falling In Keys”, and it perfectly embodies the lush atmospheres produced by the piano, drenched in sweeping delays, lightly sprinkled flutters and deep rumbling bass. The piece that I’m premiering for you today echoes the textured theme with just a touch of synth pads, delicate treatments and forefront pulsating rhythm. Here, we find Gjertsen “expertly oscillating between catchy, beat-driven hooks and slow-motion soundscapes that cause us to lose track of time.” I hope you will enjoy this and then come back for her 2019 debut, titled Fragile."

Julia Gjertsen, piano

Julia Gjertsen
is a musician/pianist/producer based in Oslo. Her music is centered around piano layers evolving into ambient soundscapes. “Combining and organising piano parts with other textural elements in a minimalist way” is how she describes her composing process.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO