Forward Motion Godyssey Post Animal

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Your Life Away05:56
  • 2Post Animal04:03
  • 3Schedule04:14
  • 4Fitness04:57
  • 5In a Paradise04:21
  • 6The Whole02:04
  • 7How Do You Feel05:43
  • 8Safe or Not04:11
  • 9Private Shield04:08
  • 10Damaged Goods04:06
  • 11Sifting03:49
  • 12Safe or Not (Extended Mix)06:25
  • Total Runtime53:57

Info for Forward Motion Godyssey

The sophomore full-length from Post Animal, Forward Motion Godyssey unfolds with a frenetic momentum, mercurial and unhinged and gloriously volatile. In a bold leap forward both artistically and sonically, the Chicago-based alt-prog band sets their existential questioning to a wildly kinetic sound, mining inspiration from genres as divergent as electronic and psych-rock and—at one particularly sublime point—achieving both stoner-metal brutishness and dreamy R&B elegance in the very same instant. At turns rhapsodic and unsettling, meditative and chaotic, the result is anything but subtle: a body of work that beckons deep involvement from the listener, a richly layered experience primed to leave its audience indelibly transported.

With its maximalist arrangements and larger-than-life scale, Forward Motion Godyssey came to life in a fittingly majestic location: a mountain-adjacent home in Big Sky, Montana, lent to the band by a friend of Reyes. Holing up in the house for eight days—after spending 36 hours stranded in Fargo due to a devastating snowstorm—Post Animal took full advantage of the splendor of their environment. “We recorded one of the songs around sunset, and set up everything so we could look out over the mountains as this crazy pink sun-glow fell over them,” Hirshland recalls. “The whole place was just a really inspiring space to play around in.”

Throughout the recording of Forward Motion Godyssey, Allison joined forces with longtime Post Animal collaborator Adam Thein to handle production duties, shaping a sonic landscape that’s unpredictable but never wayward. “Making this record, we wanted to go extreme in a lot of different directions—we wanted to be as poppy as we’ve ever been, as over-the-top as we’ve ever been, as grandiose and heavy and dramatic as we’ve ever been,” Toledo notes.

To that end, Forward Motion Godyssey encompasses such moods as the dance-ready radiance of “Safe or Not,” a song about “feeling like you can’t be yourself” according to Reyes. There’s also the disquieting intensity of “Fitness,” a sprawling exploration of what Hirshland refers to as “persistence in the face of loss.” The groove-driven “How Do You Feel” channels both confused longing and irrepressible hope in its soulful overtones, while the synth-heavy “Schedule” embodies an undeniable pop appeal. And on “Sifting,” Forward Motion Godyssey closes out on a moment of otherworldly beauty that the band traces back to the song’s conceptualization. “We really wanted ‘Sifting’ to sound like you’re floating through space on an asteroid,” says Williams. “It’s meant to capture that experience of feeling so small compared to the massiveness of something else, and how that can be kind of haunting but incredibly calming at the same time.”

Despite its endless shapeshifting, Forward Motion Godyssey bears a cohesive grace, a factor undoubtedly tied to Post Animal’s ever-growing connection as creative partners. With their origins lying in a near-lifelong friendship between Allison and Williams, the band formed in 2015 and got their start as a six-piece also featuring guitarist Joe Keery, then released their debut album When I Think of You in a Castle in 2018. (Though Keery has since taken a key role on “Stranger Things” and left the lineup, he continues to collaborate with his former bandmates in various side projects as time permits.) Over the years, Post Animal have achieved a profound closeness that Hirshland likens to communicating in their own language. “When one of us goes through something, everyone else goes through it too—to the point where I can listen to a song that Dalton or Matt penned the lyrics for, and feel like it was written about me,” he says.

In the making of Forward Motion Godyssey, that sense of unity emboldened the band as they shared their most emotionally revealing lyrics to date, with much of the album touching on what Allison describes as “the ways that your work or your passion drives you, sometimes to the detriment of yourself and of others.” And through that relentless self-examination—as well as the album’s deeply immersive complexity—Post Animal ultimately inspire a similar introspection within the listener. “I feel like almost everyone can relate to the things we were going through on this record, even if their circumstances are different,” says Allison. “One of the things we want most for the album is for people to think about their own lives and their own journey, and maybe try to live in a more purposeful or mindful way.”

"Forward Motion Godyssey is an album I was not expecting. To be honest, I thought I was setting myself up to listen to a basic pop rock album. I figured I would get a couple earworms stuck in my head for a couple hours but would ultimately forget about the songs in a few days. I could not have been more wrong. Post Animal helped to remind me what it feels like to be fascinated by music. The album has so many intriguing and pleasurable elements that made me want more than just the 48-minute runtime. Even if the band’s genre-bending combination of psychedelic-prog-punk-pop-everything-but-the-kitchen-sink rock doesn’t sound like it will appeal to you, Forward Motion Godyssey is definitely worth taking a listen to." (

Post Animal

Post Animal
Offering an ambitious mix of hard, soft, prog, and psychedelic rock spiked with hooks, fills, and riffs, Post Animal are an indie rock group from Chicago. They issued their full-length debut, When I Think of You in a Castle, in 2018.

Formed in 2014 by childhood friends Dalton Allison (bass) and Matt Williams (guitar), the band expanded to include guitarists Jake Hirshland and Joe Keery for their debut EP, Post Animal Perform the Most Curious Water Activities, released in 2015. Adding drummer Wesley Toledo to the official lineup, Post Animal began packing basement shows and small clubs in Chicago. They issued a series of three two-track singles in the first half of 2016 and collected them on the Garden Series EP that July. Around that time, Keery began appearing as Steve Harrington on the Netflix series Stranger Things, and the band added Javi Reyes as fourth guitarist. The sextet soon headed to a lake house in Watervliet, Michigan, to record their full-length debut. Allison spent the next several months working on mixing the album, and in May 2017 Post Animal released "Special Moment," their first single as a six-piece. The group also embarked on their first tours, including opening shows for hometown headliners Twin Peaks. Late in 2017, Post Animal signed with Polyvinyl Records, which released the self-produced When I Think of You in a Castle in April 2018. By that time, Keery's acting career had taken off with multiple seasons on the hit show, and he parted ways with the band while continuing to collaborate on various side projects as time permitted.

The remaining five-piece followed up with another eclectic set of songs, Forward Motion Godyssey, in February 2020. Keeping things in-family, it was produced and mixed by Allison and prior collaborator Adam Thein. (Marcy Donelson, AMG)

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO