A Few Kites Andy Kozar

Cover A Few Kites

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 12.50
  • Quinn Collins (b. 1983):
  • 1Blister06:02
  • Paula Matthusen (b. 1978):
  • 2On the Imagined Relations of Night Sounds (And Silent Darkness)08:24
  • Ken Ueno (b. 1970):
  • 3Quentin: I. Benjy's Song03:04
  • 4Quentin: II. Mausoleoum11:34
  • Scott Worthington:
  • 5A Few Kites04:25
  • Tyler Harrison (b. 1985):
  • 6Flutter04:17
  • Davíð Brynjar Franzson (b. 1978):
  • 7Longitudinal Study No. 1a06:59
  • Jeffrey Gavett:
  • 8Moving Target05:09
  • Scott Worthington:
  • 9Still Life08:49
  • Heather Stebbins:
  • 10Tracer06:06
  • Eve Beglarian (b. 1958):
  • 11Osculati Fourniture (Version for Trumpet & Tape)04:03
  • Total Runtime01:08:52

Info for A Few Kites

American trumpet soloist Andy Kozar releases “A Few Kites,” his premiere solo record, featuring extraordinary new works for trumpet and electronics from many of the country's leading composers. Best known for being one fourth of the 'inventive' (New York Times) and 'cultivated' (The New Yorker) group loadbang, Andy is committed to commissioning new works for trumpet and electronics as part of a larger project to grow the repertoire for his instrument. The composers on this disc, Paula Matthusen, Ken Ueno, Scott Worthington, Quinn Collins, Tyler Harrison, Davíð Brynjar Franzson, Eve Beglarian, Heather Stebbins, and fellow loadbanger Jeffrey Gavett, all offer different interpretations of what a trumpet and electronics piece should be in their unique languages. The combination of Andy’s performative dexterity and innate sensitivity to phrase delivers performances that hover above stale musical ground while still being tethered to a new music tradition.

The opening work of this record, Quinn Collins' Blister, is a technical tour-de-force, highlighting Andy Kozar's virtuosic abilities on the instrument. The electronics include a juxtaposition of found audio objects (bending of metal sheets, breaking of glass, and the dragging of chains) and synthesized material. Both the trumpet and synthesized electronic material primarily use eight chords, which are approached melodically either intuitively or by employing algorithms using Markov chains in a computer application titled Grace by Heinrich Taube. The inspiration for Paula Matthusen's on the imagined relations of night sounds (and silent darkness) lies in the ever-changing soundscapes of New York City. The source material is drawn from field recordings conducted overnight at the Great Lawn in New York City’s Central Park, beginning at the start of summer in June, and ending in early September. Interested in the present soundscape of the city that never sleeps, the work invites the audience to listen in on the various states of sonic activity as they transition gradually from sunset to sunrise, as well as early to late summer.

In Ken Ueno's Quentin, the first, short, movement is played on a part of the trumpet that is not normally played separately from the rest of the instrument: the first valve slide. In fact, it is a first valve slide from a Bb trumpet (a deconstruction of a trumpet), whereas the rest of the piece is played on a C trumpet, “hacked” with a 7-ft tube inserted into the first valve. The timbral distortion effected by these ostensible preparations and the microtonal focus of the piece are ways in which the composer imagines a kind of primitivist music of the future. Or, put another way, music which at once can be evocative of some faint memory of a folk music of an esoteric tribe of the ancient past as much as a experimental music of a virtuosic music cult in an unspecific distance into the future.

Andy Kozar, trumpet
Quinn Collins, electronics
Paula Matthusen, electronics
Ken Ueno, electronics
Leah Asher, violin
Scott Worthington, electronics
Tyler Harrison, electronics
Davíð Brynjar Franzson, electronics
Jeffrey Gavett, electronics
Heather Stebbins, electronics
Scott Worthington, electronics
Eve Beglarian, electronics

Andy Kozar
A native of Pittsburgh, Andy Kozar is a New York City based trumpeter, improviser, composer and educator that has been called a "star soloist" by TimeOutNY, noted for his "precise trumpeting" by New York Classical Review and has been said to be "agile as he navigated leaps and slurs with grace...he shifted between lyricism and aggression deftly" by the International Trumpet Guild Journal. A strong advocate of contemporary music, he is a founding member of the contemporary music quartet loadbang which has been called "inventive" by the New York Times, "cultivated" by The New Yorker, and "a formidable new-music force" by TimeOutNY. He is also a member the Byrne:KozarDuo, and has performed with new music ensembles including Bang on a Can, Ensemble Signal, and the Boston Modern Orchestra Project. He has worked closely with leading composers including Helmut Lachenmann, Christian Wolff, Joe Hisaishi (Spirited Away), George Lewis, Chaya Czernowin, and Pulitzer Prize winning composers David Lang and Charles Wuorinen. Kozar has performed at venues both domestically and abroad including Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, The Kennedy Center, MoMA, Rothko Chapel, The Barclays Center, and Shanghai Symphony Hall. Andy is on trumpet faculty at Hunter College in New York City as well as the Longy School of Music of Bard College in Boston and is a Yamaha Performing Artist and exclusively performs on Yamaha trumpets.

Booklet for A Few Kites

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO