Penderecki: St. Luke Passion (Live) Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal & Kent Nagano

Cover Penderecki: St. Luke Passion (Live)

Album info



Label: BIS

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal & Kent Nagano

Composer: Krzysztof Penderecki (1933)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.70
  • Krzysztof Penderecki (1933 - 2020): St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1:
  • 1St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 1, O crux ave, spes unica (Live)04:44
  • 2St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 2, Et egressus ibat (Live)01:30
  • 3St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 3, Deus meus (Live)03:11
  • 4St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 4, Domine, quis habitabit (Live)03:05
  • 5St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 5, Adhuc eo loquente (Live)02:35
  • 6St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 6, Ierusalem, Ierusalem (Live)01:09
  • 7St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 7, Ut quid, Domine (Live)01:01
  • 8St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 8, Comprehendentes autem (Live)02:04
  • 9St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 9, Iudica me (Live)00:53
  • 10St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 10, Et viri, qui tenebant illum (Live)02:06
  • 11St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 11, Ierusalem, Ierusalem (Live)00:54
  • 12St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 12, Miserere mei, Deus (Live)03:12
  • 13St. Luke Passion, Pt. 1: No. 13, Et surgens omnis (Live)04:21
  • St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2:
  • 14St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 14, Et in pulverem mortis (Live)00:38
  • 15St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 15, Et baiulans (Live)00:12
  • 16St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 16, Popule meus (Live)07:11
  • 17St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 17, Ibi crucifixerunt eum (Live)01:22
  • 18St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 18, Crux fidelis (Live)04:20
  • 19St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 19, Iesus autem dicebat (Live)00:55
  • 20St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 20, In pulverem mortis (Live)04:49
  • 21St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 21, Et stabat populus (Live)01:29
  • 22St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 22, Unus autem de his (Live)01:43
  • 23St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 23, Stabant autem iuxta crucem (Live)01:02
  • 24St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 24, Stabat mater (Live)05:47
  • 25St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 25, Erat autem fere hora sexta (Live)01:28
  • 26St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 26, Alla breve (Live)00:59
  • 27St. Luke Passion, Pt. 2: No. 27, In pulverem mortis... In te, Domine, speravi (Live)03:06
  • Total Runtime01:05:46

Info for Penderecki: St. Luke Passion (Live)

Krzysztof Penderecki's setting of the Passion story as told in the Gospel of St Luke was premièred in 1966 and immediately established a place for itself among the most important large-scale choral works of the twentieth century. Despite its decidedly modernist idiom, the musics emotional power, glowing colors and sonic impact spoke to audiences as well as critics, one of whom described St Luke's Passion as the most important bridge between the spirit of the liturgy and modern music. Strongly influenced by the Passions of J. S. Bach, Penderecki pays homage to the great composer by using the B-A-C-H motif throughout the work, and like Bach he has arranged his Passion in two parts, with monumental choral numbers framing the whole. The score is for large forces including an extended orchestra, three mixed choirs, plus a boys choir, speaker and three vocal soloists (soprano, baritone and bass). On 20th July 2018 these all convened at the Felsenreitschule in Salzburg: l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal with their principal conductor Kent Nagano, the Warsaw Boys Choir and Kraków Philharmonic Chorus, the three soloists and the actor Slawomir Holland. The occasion was the opening concert of the Salzburg Festival, and in the audience was the composer himself, Krzysztof Penderecki. Present was also a recording team led by Robert Suff, senior producer at BIS, and this album is the document of this very special occasion.

Sarah Wegener, soprano
Orchestre Symphonique De Montreal
Kent Nagano, conductor

The Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal
was founded in 1934. It has produced nearly a hundred records for different international labels earning numerous international awards, inluding two Grammys. Former artistic directors included personalities such as Igor Markevitch, Zubin Mehta, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos and Charles Dutoit. Kent Nagano whose tenure as artistic director began in 2006 has led the orchestra to the United States (including its Carnegie Hall debut in March 2008) to Japan, South Korea and to Europe. Their first joint CD "Ideals of the French Revolution" was released in 2008.

Kent Nagano
was born in California and started his career in 1978 as conductor of the Berkeley Symphony where he became a champion of the music of Olivier Messiaen and initiated a correspondence with him. Nagano's early professional years were spent in Boston, working in the opera house and as assistant conductor to Seiji Ozawa at the Boston Symphony Orchestra. He played a key role in the world premiere of Messiaen's opera "Saint François d'Assise" at the request of the composer. In 1982 Nagano conducted the London Symphony Orchestra in the premieres of several orchestral compositions by Frank Zappa. Nagano was music director of the Opéra de Lyon from 1988 to 1998 and served as principal conductor of the Hallé Orchestra in Manchester from 1992 to 1999. While principal conductor and artistic director of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (2000-2006) he recorded works by Beethoven, Schoenberg, Bruckner, Alexander von Zemlinsky, and Gustav Mahler. Kent Nagano was appointed principal conductor at Los Angeles Opera starting from the 2001-2002 season. In May 2003, he was named the LA Opera's first ever Music Director, retaining the position until 2006. Nagano has been a regular guest at the Salzburg Festival, where he premièred Kaija Saariaho's “L'Amour de loin” in 2000. He also conducted the world première of John Adams' “The Death of Klinghoffer” in Brussels.

In 2006 he took his posts as music director of the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal and of the Bavarian State Opera. Nagano's repertoire in Montréal in the 2009/10 season includes a complete cycle of Beethoven's symphonies; while in Munich he conducts new productions of "Don Giovanni", "Dialogues des Carmélites" and "Die schweigsame Frau".

Booklet for Penderecki: St. Luke Passion (Live)

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO