The Twelve (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Federico Albanese

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 13.20
  • Federico Albanese (b. 1982):
  • 1The Twelve Theme03:19
  • 2North Variation03:17
  • 3The Stars We Follow03:54
  • 4Universes02:54
  • 5The Morning Frame02:05
  • 6Candles03:57
  • 7The Harp Theme06:15
  • 8The Harp Theme, Pt. 202:36
  • 9Eternal03:02
  • 10Gentle Flow05:19
  • 11The Twelve Theme, Pt. 204:46
  • 12Olican03:43
  • Total Runtime45:07

Info for The Twelve (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

"The Twelve" is a soundtrack, but it also is an album very much in its own right, with tracks that stand on their own, "It tells the story of [..] twelve people even without you seeing the film" explains Federico Albanese.

The pieces invoke feelings of meditation and anticipation that convey a wonderful sense of storytelling, and hearing about Albanese's inspiration for these only strengthens their narrative. Take "The Stars We Follow", a piece as gentle and contemplative as it is powerful. The track was inspired by Japanese master Aoki Hiroyuki and the special practice he developed in order to connect to nature, "It's something between a martial art and a dance. At some point Lucy sent me a short clip where they do a session of this on a beach, and I thought somehow the movements were like chasing stars," explains Albanese, "as well as the general idea of all these elders travelling, and following their own ideas and stars and trying to communicate them with the world."

The wonderfully comforting piece "North Variation"was inspired by Master Lyudmila Khomovna, one of the last people of Uilta decent living in a remote island in Siberia, "She is a very particular person, and profoundly elder, a very wise person. I was having this idea in mind of something set in a very cold place but with a deep warmth within," says Albanese.

"The Twelve" cemented Federico Albanese’s abilities to work outside his comfort zone. Being simultaneously able to adapt to the collaborative efforts of filmmaking while following his own internal creative process, his album demonstrates the added value of organic partnerships between artists, "I would say cinema is my second love besides music. I'm probably not the kind of person who is willing to write music for anything, I am happy to pledge to a project when I can see there is something I can give to it."

Federico Albanese, piano

Federico Albanese
is a composer born in Milan,Italy in 1982. His musical versatility is a natural gift that pushes him to explore music in all its facets. Albanese’s compositions are airy and cinematic, blending classical music, pop and psychedelia. He started studying piano and clarinet as a child before becoming fascinated by rock music performing in several bands. Influenced by black music, folk, electronic, modern and contemporary classical music his skills as a composer soon emerged, He worked for 5 years as prop man in several film sets. This experience made him understand the power of the connection between music and images and helped him to develop his personal musical path. In 2007 he met singer and songwriter Jessica Einaudi and together they founded the avant-garde duo “La Blanche Alchimie”. Composing songs with Jessica he rediscovered his love for the piano, which from that moment on, became his main instrument. They released 2 albums and gained national and international critical attention, performing around Europe, Russia and USA. Their sound has been described as melancholic and haunting, intermingling mellow acoustics and rock-infused dreamscapes.The first omonymous album was released in Italy in 2009 on Ponderosa/Edel. The second album “Galactic Boredom” was released in Italy in 2011 on Ponderosa/Universal and in Germany in 2012 on Q-rious/Edel. In september 2012 the band has been nominated by “Preis der deutschenShallplattenkritik” in the category of best independent album. In 2010 he scored the soundtrack of the short film “Pick up” by Manyhands - a collective of young italian directors - broadcasted by one the most important italian television channels (SKY). In 2012 he scored the soundtrack of documentary “Fabulae Romane” filmed by Matteo Cherubino, a work that documents the first of a structured set of activities of Zegnart - a project commissioned by Ermenegildo Zegna dedicated to the art of our time - that took place at MaXXI - National Museum of XXI Century Arts in Rome. In 2012 he composed the music of full length film “Shadows in the distance” by spanish director Orlando Bosh which has been premiered at Shanghai Film Festival. Between 2013 and 2014 Federico composed and produced music for several films and projects, including the debut short film by Bahar Ebrahim “Alles im grünen Bereich”, and the documentary “Cinema Perverso” by Oliver Shweem produced by the german TV channel ARTE..

Released in February 2014, his highly acclaimed debut solo album “The Houseboat and the Moon” has been described as “pure gold” , and “ one of the most beautiful modern classical albums of the past years..” . He also produced and arranged J Moon (aka Jessica Eianudi) first solo album “Melt”. In August 2014 he released a “Reworked” version of “The Houseboat and the Moon” featuring remixes of Cassegrain, John Lemke, Franz Kirmann and Saffronkeira.

Albanese’s second full lenght album entitled “The Blue Hour” will see the light of the day on January 15, 2016 and will be released by the historical record label BERLIN CLASSICS in their new series of contemporary classical music called “Neue Maister”.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO