Album info



Label: Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: SIGNUM saxophone quartet

Composer: John Dowland (1562-1626), Peter Gregson (1987), Philip Glass (1937), Paul Hindemith (1895–1963)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • John Dowland (1563 - 1626):
  • 1Dowland: Lachrimae Antiquae (Arr. Knoth)03:47
  • Max Richter (b. 1966):
  • 2Richter: On the Nature of Daylight (Transc. for Saxophone Quartet and Cello)06:15
  • Philip Glass (b. 1937):
  • 3Glass: I. 1957: Award Montage (Arr. for Saxophone Quartet)03:31
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845 - 1924):
  • 4Fauré: IV. Pie Jesu (Arr. Knoth)03:25
  • Peter Gregson (b. 1987):
  • 5Gregson: II. Allemande (Arr. for Saxophone Quartet)02:47
  • Joep Beving (b. 1976):
  • 6Beving: Ab Ovo (Arr. Knoth)04:06
  • Remo Giazotto (1910 - 1998):
  • 7Giazotto: Adagio in G Minor (Attrib. T. Albinoni) [Arr. for Saxophone Quartet]05:36
  • Paul Hindemith (1895 - 1963):
  • 8Hindemith: IV. Choral (Arr. for Saxophone Quartet and Cello)01:54
  • Peteris Vasks (b. 1946):
  • 9Vasks: IV. Then Time Stopped (Version for Saxophone Quartet)03:09
  • Guillermo Lago (b. 1960):
  • 10Lago: Ciudades: Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)04:41
  • Total Runtime39:11

Info for Echoes

The sensational SIGNUM saxophone quartet present repertoire from Echoes, their debut Deutsche Grammophon album, in this concert from the Berlin Meistersaal. Echoes features a wide range of genres, with arrangements of works by composers as diverse as Dowland, Albinoni, Fauré, Hindemith, Philip Glass and Peter Gregson, among others. Cellist Hila Karni joins the quartet for Max Richter’s On the Nature of Daylight, while also in the mix are Guillermo Lago’s “Sarajevo” (from Ciudades) – a sax quartet original – Pēteris Vasks’ Songs of Love and an arrangement of Joep Beving’s “Ab Ovo”.

Signum Saxophone Quartet

Signum Saxophone Quartet
The four musicians Blaž Kemperle, Hayrapet Arakelyan, Alan Lužar and Guerino Bellarosa met in Cologne where they founded the SIGNUM saxophone quartet in 2006. The saxophonists have studied in Cologne, Vienna and Paris; they have been influenced and inspired by the Quatuor Ébène, Artemis Quartet and Gabor Takács-Nágy.

Award winners at international competitions including Lugano and Berlin, SIGNUM nowadays play in concert halls and at festivals all over Europe. In 2013 they made their debut in the Carnegie Hall NY. A very special and remarkable achievement was the award Rising Stars 2014/2015 given by the European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO), which took SIGNUM to such prestigious concert halls as the Barbican Centre London, Konzerthaus Vienna, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Palais des Beaux-Arts Brussels, Gulbenkian Lisbon, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Philharmonie Luxembourg, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Konzerthaus Dortmund, Philharmonie Cologne, amongst others. Recently SIGNUM was awarded “Best Ensemble” by prestigious German Festival Festspiele Mecklenburg Vorpommern.

SIGNUM are constantly searching for new ideas, ground breaking challenges and intriguing artistic encounters. Their sheer joy and experimental versatility are reflected in their extraordinary programs; the four young musicians are also to be heard in classical quartet formations and they continue to create exciting, never before seen joint arrangements with inspiring soundscapes.

In the upcoming season, SIGNUM will perform various programs with exciting chamber music partners: Starry Night with Alexej Gerassimez (percussion), BACHianas with Tanja Tetzlaff or Konstantin Manaev (cello); SIGNUM & Bartolomey with Matthias Bartolomey (cello) and a new composition of Florian Willeitner, Rhapsody in Blu with Lukas Geniušas (piano), and the new and never-heard program Goldberg Nights with Kai Schumacher (piano & prepared piano). A new project with Daniel Hope (violin) will follow the performance at Hope@Home which has been streamed on In 2021, they have scheduled various quartet recitals and masterclasses at international prestigious festival and concert halls in Europe and China. Furthermore, SIGNUM will continue performing with orchestra; on the program: P. Glass’ Concerto for orchestra and saxophone quartet, Bob Mintzer’s The Rhythm of the Americas with Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, Symphony Orchestra of Münster and Duisburg Philharmonic. In autumn 2021, SIGNUM will start an exciting season in Duisburg as “Artist in Residence”. The SIGNUMs also care deeply about the audience of tomorrow, and so they have devised their own educational family concert SIGNUM4kids.

Following their first two albums, Debut (2011) and Balkanication (2014), on 15th January 2021 SIGNUM will present their first Deutsche Grammophon’s album ECHOES available as e-album and featuring inventive arrangements by composers from Dowland, Faurè and Albinoni to Peter Gregson, as well as Guillermo Lago’s ‘Sarajevo’, original for saxophone quartet and including also standout tracks by Max Richter and Joep Beving. The launch is marked by a concert on DG Stage streamed from the Berlin Meistersaal.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO