Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 12.00
  • 1Elzic's Farewell03:25
  • 2Prelude from Partita #3 for Solo Violin in E Major04:11
  • 3Cat Got the Mouse04:56
  • 4Diabinho Maluco02:27
  • 5Mara's Sleeping Song03:28
  • 6Big Man from Syracuse03:41
  • 7Borealis06:38
  • 8Bokeh04:16
  • 9Ground in C Minor04:36
  • 10Queira-Me Bem02:31
  • Total Runtime40:09

Info for Third Journey

It was in 2007 at the Mandolin Symposium in Santa Cruz, California that we first met. We had known about each other, had each other's recordings and admired each other's playing, but we had not yet met formally. On our first recording, we were simply trying to find common musical ground with an appreciation for Bach, Brazilian, Bulgarian and Bluegrass music. Our second CD dove into the heart of our favorite composer Johann Sebastian Bach. Third Journey represents the natural settling that has occurred after years of playing and sharing a life together with the bulk of the material culled from mostly American musical forays with a bit of Bach and Brazil tossed in just because we couldn't help ourselves.

On Third Journey, Mike Marshall and Caterina Lichtenberg deliver impeccable mandolin virtuosity and intuitive interplay.

Mike Marshall, mandolin
Caterina Lichtenberg, mandolin

Mike Marshall & Caterina Lichtenberg
Two of the leading American mandolin players, Mike Marshall and Caterina Lichtenberg, reconnect again for the third time. Third Journey contains a set of superb mandolin duos showcasing the virtuosity of both musicians. The music is inspired by bluegrass and other forms of American traditional music, along with Brazilian sounds, Bach and jazz-infused improvisation.

Mike Marshall and Caterina Lichtenberg met in 2007 at the Mandolin Symposium in Santa Cruz, California. Although they had heard about each other, had each other’s albums and respected each other’s playing, they had not met formally. The duo’s first collaborations was titled Mike Marshall & Caterina Lichtenberg (Adventure Music, 2018) with a focus on Bach, Brazilian music, Bulgarian traditions and bluegrass music. The second album, JS Bach (Adventure Music (2015) was dedicated to their favorite composer Johann Sebastian Bach.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO