Apostrophe(') (Remastered) Frank Zappa

Cover Apostrophe(') (Remastered)

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Frank Zappa Catalog

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Modern Rock

Interpret: Frank Zappa

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Don't Eat The Yellow Snow02:05
  • 2Nanook Rubs It04:37
  • 3St. Alfonzo's Pancake Breakfast01:50
  • 4Father O'Blivion02:17
  • 5Cosmik Debris04:15
  • 6Excentrifugal Forz01:33
  • 7Apostrophe'05:49
  • 8Uncle Remus02:49
  • 9Stink-Foot06:40
  • Total Runtime31:55

Info zu Apostrophe(') (Remastered)

The Zappa Family Trust presents Frank Zappa’s Apostrophe(’) on HighResAudio. This remastered edition of the iconic 1974 album is cut directly from the original quarter-inch stereo analog master tapes.

Featuring definitive Zappa cuts “Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow” and “Cosmik Debris” among its original nine tracks, Apostrophe(’) was Zappa’s highest-charting album, peaking at No. 10 on the Billboard 200. The Gold-certified album has been remastered for vinyl by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering and manufactured for the world at Pallas Group in Germany.

The 40th Anniversary Edition of Apostrophe(’) continues the Zappa Family Trust's ongoing commitment to the restoration of Frank Zappa’s albums on audiophile quality vinyl. Joe Travers, Vaultmeister, Zappa Archives, is working on the new LP releases with Bellman.

Apostrophe (') is an album by Frank Zappa, his eighteenth, released on March 22, 1974. An edited version of its lead-off track, "Don't Eat the Yellow Snow," was Zappa's first chart single, reaching position 86. Apostrophe (') remains Zappa's biggest commercial success in the US. It was certified Gold by the RIAA on April 7, 1976. The album also peaked at number 10 on the Billboard Charts and would end up becoming Zappa's highest-charting album.

Continuing from the commercial breakthrough of Over-Nite Sensation (1973), this album is a similar mix of short songs showcasing Zappa's humor and musical arrangements. The record's lyrical themes are often bizarre or obscure, with the exception of "Uncle Remus," which is an extension of Zappa's feelings on racial disharmony featured on his earlier song "Trouble Every Day."

"The musically similar follow-up to the commercial breakthrough of Over-Nite Sensation, Apostrophe (') became Frank Zappa's second gold and only Top Ten album with the help of the "doggy wee-wee" jokes of "Don't Eat the Yellow Snow," Zappa's first chart single (a longer, edited version that used portions of other songs on the LP). The first half of the album is full of nonsensical shaggy-dog story songs that segue into one another without seeming to finish themselves first; their dirty jokes are generally more subtle and veiled than the more notorious cuts on Over-Nite Sensation. The second half contains the instrumental title cut, featuring Jack Bruce on bass; "Uncle Remus," an update of Zappa's critique of racial discord on "Trouble Every Day"; and a return to the album's earlier silliness in "Stink-Foot." Apostrophe (') has the narrative feel of a concept album, but aside from its willful absurdity, the concept is difficult to decipher; even so, that doesn't detract from its entertainment value." (Steve Huey, AMG)

Frank Zappa, guitars, bass, lead vocals, arranger & producer
Tony Duran, rhythm guitar (track 7)
George Duke, keyboards, backing vocals
Don 'Sugarcane' Harris, violin
Jean-Luc Ponty, violin
Ian Underwood, saxophone
Napoleon Murphy Brock, saxophone, backing vocals
Sal Marquez, trumpet
Bruce Fowler, trombone
Jack Bruce, bass (track 7)
Alex Dmochowski, bass
Tom Fowler, bass
Jim Gordon, drums (tracks 6,7)
John Guerin, drums
Aynsley Dunbar, drums
Ralph Humphrey, drums
Ruth Underwood, percussion
Ray Collins, backing vocals
Kerry McNabb, backing vocals
Susie Glower, backing vocals
Debbie, Lynn, backing vocals
Ruben Ladron De Guevara, backing vocals
Robert Camarena, backing vocals
Tina Turner & The Ikettes, backing vocals

Digitally remastered

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für Apostrophe(') (Remastered)

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO