Cover Sacrum convivium

Album info



Label: Mirare

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Choral

Artist: Vox Clamantis & Jaan-Eik Tulve

Composer: Maurice Durufle (1902-1986), Guillaume de Machaut (1300-1377), Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 12.50
  • Maurice Duruflé (1902 - 1986):
  • 1Ubi caritas et amor02:01
  • 2Tota pulchra es02:53
  • 3Tu es Petrus02:08
  • 4Tantum ergo06:20
  • Guillaume de Machaut (1300 - 1377):
  • 5Le Lai de Nostre Dame11:32
  • Francis Poulenc (1899 - 1963):
  • 64 Motets pour un temps de pénitence, FP 97: I. Timor et tremor02:39
  • Anonymous:
  • 7Répons grégorien: Vinea mea electa03:45
  • Francis Poulenc:
  • 84 Motets pour un temps de pénitence, FP 97: II. Vinea mea electa03:40
  • Anonymous:
  • 9Répons grégorien: Tenebræ factæ sunt03:44
  • Francis Poulenc:
  • 104 Motets pour un temps de pénitence, FP 97: III. Tenebræ factæ sunt04:05
  • Anonymous:
  • 11Répons grégorien: Tristis est anima mea03:35
  • Francis Poulenc:
  • 124 Motets pour un temps de pénitence, FP 97: IV. Tristis est anima mea04:06
  • Olivier Messiaen (1908 - 1992):
  • 13O sacrum convivium05:03
  • Total Runtime55:31

Info for Sacrum convivium

"Sacrum Convivium" presents a vision of French music over two millennia: from Gregorian chant through Guillaume de Machaut’s extraordinary ‘Lai de Nostre Dame’ to the Twentieth Century of Maurice Duruflé, Francis Poulenc and Olivier Messiaen, all three of them influenced in some way by the spirituality and sensibility of Gregorian chant, which Messiaen himself described as “the greatest treasure we possess in western music.”

Vox Clamantis
Jaan-Eik Tulve, conductor

Vox Clamantis is an Estonian ensemble which was formed in 1996. It brings together singers, composers, instrumentalists and choir­ masters who share an interest in Gregorian chant as the basis of all European art music. The group often sings this repertoire, but also performs contemporary music. Many Estonian composers, including Arvo Pärt, Erkki_Sven Tüür and Helena Tulve, have written pieces for them. Their interpretation of medieval music is never purely historical; while always remaining true to the spirit of this repertoire, the ensem­ ble tries to engage in a dialogue with contemporary music; even programmes consisting entirely of medieval music are contemporary in their selection of pieces. The ensemble has worked with numerous musicians of international standing, such as the organists Jean Boyer, Werner Jacob, Jon Laukvik, the Catalan soprano Arianna Savall, the French pianists Brigitte Engerer and Jean_Claude Pennetier, The Cello Octet Amsterdam, the early music group Hortus Musicus, the con­ temporary ensemble NYYD Ensemble and the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir. Their artistic director and choirmaster is Jaan_Eik Tulve.

Booklet for Sacrum convivium

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO