Orchids and Violence Michael Daves

Cover Orchids and Violence

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Bluegrass:
  • 1June Apple03:16
  • 2The Dirt That You Throw03:58
  • 3Darling Corey03:14
  • 4Elzic's Farewell03:11
  • 5A Good Year For the Roses04:33
  • 6Drunken Hiccups03:35
  • 7Stargazer04:41
  • 8Dark Angel03:16
  • 9The?28th of January04:44
  • 10I Only Exist04:32
  • 11Pretty Polly04:33
  • 12Train On The Island03:10
  • Electric:
  • 13June Apple04:58
  • 14The Dirt That You Throw04:33
  • 15Darling Corey04:04
  • 16Elzic's Farewell03:00
  • 17A Good Year For the Roses06:16
  • 18Drunken Hiccups04:26
  • 19Stargazer04:59
  • 20Dark Angel03:50
  • 21The?28th of January04:47
  • 22I Only Exist03:34
  • 23Pretty Polly04:47
  • 24Train On The Island03:37
  • Total Runtime01:39:34

Info for Orchids and Violence

Grammy-nominated guitarist and singer Michael Daves, whom the New York Times calls 'a leading light of the New York bluegrass scene,' celebrates the release of his double album Orchids and Violence.

Orchids and Violence's double album comprise identical track listings of mostly traditional bluegrass songs: the first features straightforward interpretations of the songs and was recorded live to tape in a 19th-century church with a stellar band of roots-music innovators; the second disc, recorded mostly by Daves in his Brooklyn studio, includes drums, and electric bass and guitars, and takes a raw, experimental rock approach to the same mostly old-time material. In each of the three New York concerts, performances, Daves and his two distinct bands will play the songs from the albums done in their contrasting interpretations. In the first set each night, Daves will present the bluegrass material along with Noam Pikelny (Punch Brothers) on banjo, Brittany Haas (Crooked Still, Dave Rawlings Machine) on fiddle, Jake Jolliff (Yonder Mountain String Band, Joy Kills Sorrow) on mandolin, Larry Cook on bass, and Jen Larson on harmony vocals. The second set will feature the electric material with Daves joined by experimental rock drummer Kid Millions (Oneida, The Boredoms) and electric bassist Jessi Carter (Buzz Buzz Tabernacle). Each of the three shows will also feature different special guest appearances: at Rockwood, the fiddle phenoms Mike Barnett and Alex Hargreaves in the bluegrass set; a surprise guest TBD at the Knitting Factory; and at the Bell House, the progressive banjo legend Tony Trischka in both the bluegrass and electric sets. Trischka was the only musician (other than Daves) to appear on both the bluegrass and electric sides of Orchids and Violence, on the cello banjo.

Both of Daves' live bands feature acclaimed musicians on the vanguard of their respective instruments and styles. Hailed by the Chicago Tribune as the 'pros' top banjo picker,' Pikelny was recently awarded IBMA's Banjo Player of the Year and Album of the Year awards. Haas recently toured and recorded with the Dave Rawlings Machine and is regarded as one of the most influential fiddlers of her generation. On the electric side, drummer Kid Millions (a.k.a. John Colpitts) is a highly-sought collaborator for progressive and indie rock bands. The New York Times lauds the 'fury and expert precision' of Millions' playing, and describes him as 'a musician who has become deeply enmeshed in the underground rock world of New York and beyond … a ubiquitous force in a constantly changing scene.' Bassist Jessi Carter is a visual artist and also Daves' wife and longtime musical collaborator. She played on and helped produce the electric side of Orchids and Violence, and also contributed album cover artwork.

Michael Daves, guitar, vocals
Noam Pikelny, banjo
Sarah Jarosz, mandolin, octave mandolin, harmony vocals
Brittany Haas, fiddle
Mike Bub, bass
Tony Trischka, cello banjo (track 9)
Mike Barnett, fiddle (tracks 2, 12)
Alex Hargreaves, fiddle (tracks 2, 12)
Chris Eldridge, harmony vocals (track 10)
Jen Larson, harmony vocals (track 10)

Michael Daves
was born in 1977 in the southern empire of Atlanta, Georgia. Soon after, he began to make loud noises, so his loving parents put music instruments in front of him. It was a good plan. He grew up in that grand tradition of staying up late & singing real loud. Although he's since moved north, the humid south remains in heart and sinus cavities Heralded as “a leading light of the New York bluegrass scene” by the New York Times, Daves has garnered attention for his work with Chris Thile, Steve Martin, Tony Trischka, and Rosanne Cash in addition to his solo performances. His most recent project is “Sleep With One Eye Open”, the debut album from Thile and Daves, which was recorded live to tape over four days at Jack White’s Third Man studio in Nashville. The duo makes for "a rip-roaring partnership," says the New York Times. "Bluegrass, in their hands, gets roughed up in the best possible way, with skill and fervor, and a touch of abandon." “Sleep With One Eye Open” received a 2011 Grammy Nomination for Best Bluegrass Album.

Currently Michael lives in New York, where he is supervised by his daughter and two vigorous cats. Brooklyn, New York is a very exciting place to live. In addition to playing music & teaching, Michael enjoys turning the knobs & playing with the buttons some on several pieces of recording equipment. This is why he put a studio into his house.

Booklet for Orchids and Violence

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO